Primary Sources
- Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Thousands of newspapers, books, ephemera, broadsides, pamphlets, government publications, and more, detailing life in 17th-, 18th-, and 19th-century America. Includes America's Historical Imprints; Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876; America's Historical Newspapers; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. - Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration. Collection also includes images, video, and audio. - Colonial America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, from 1606 to 1822. (The content is being published online in stages, and will not be complete until 2019,) - Colonial State Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the 16th and 18th centuries.
- Cross-Cultural Colonial ConflictsPrimary source set and teaching guide related to English-Native conflicts in the 17th and 18th centuries. From the Library of Congress.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters, centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico.