Librarian/Curator for Latin American and Iberian Studies
Top Resources in Chicano/a Studies
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. - Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded in 1992 to include the broader Latinx experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly works on Latin America from 1935 to the present. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center. - Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Plays, prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the US. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present. About 30% of the database is previously unpublished or rare materials.
General Article Databases
These key databases will give you broad access to journal articles and citations across a number of fields.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
How to Evaluate Web Resources
The Web contains multitudes of information, with one search yielding thousands of results. It is necessary to evaluate each site in order to know how authoritative it is. Here are some resources for evaluating web resources:
- Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask (UC Berkeley)Review the website's authenticity by using this UC Berkeley Guide.
Quick Links
- Library HoursUCLA Library hours may change so be sure to check the website. The Page and Pick Up Service is now offered for regular circulating books only in the Arts Library that are stored in YRL.
- Research HelpSee various links to people and resources you can go to for help with your research.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- SRLF (Southern Regional Library Facility)Many library materials, archives, and manuscript collections are housed in the SRLF, a climate-controlled environment designed to preserve them. Materials can be retrieved for use in campus libraries or to be checked out.
- UCLA Schedule of ClassesUCLA Schedule of Classes is archived online from 1997.
- CLICC (Campus Library Instructional Computing Commons)CLICC offers technology and support for UCLA students, faculty, and staff--such as laptop/iPad lending, study room and library classroom reservations, computer stations, and a wide variety of instructional software through the CLICC Virtual Desktop.