Languages of the World
- GlottologA comprehensive online catalog of reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser-known languages.
- Language Families of the WorldMaps indicating language families.
- CIA World FactbookOverviews of the geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, transnational issues, and military of countries of the world.
- Endangered Languages ProjectOverview of endangered languages worldwide and related language resources.
- The Global Lexicostatistical DatabaseThe Global Lexicostatistical Database (GLD) is an ongoing Swadesh List linguistic project, initiated by the Moscow school of comparative linguistics and carried out with the support of the Evolution of Human Language (EHL) program at the Santa Fe Institute and the Tower of Babel program, launched in 1998 by Sergei Starostin.
Ethnologue
Ethnologue is the comprehensive reference work that catalogs all the known living languages in the world today. Contains overview of primary names, alternate names, dialect names, country overviews, number of speakers, and maps. The library does not have a digital subscription to this resource, however there are non-circulating print copies available at the YRL Reading Reference Room.
Ethnologue: Languages of the Americas and the Pacific by Call Number: YRL Ref. P376.E846Date: 2022-01-01
Statistics
- UN iLibrary This link opens in a new windowThe United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations.
It provides librarians, information specialists, scholars, students, policy makers, influencers and the general public with a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs. - OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOnline library of e-books, e-periodicals, and interactive statistical databases produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
- World Bank Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog with links to data products from the World Bank. Includes World Development Indicators (WDI).
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which cover political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and provide information on a variety of international organizations.
Need a Grammar Book?
If you need a reference grammar of a specific language from the library, search for the following subject terms in the UCLA Library Catalog:
XXXX language grammar
E.g. Kannada language grammar; Igbo language grammar; Tagalog language grammar; etc. The search will lead to books with that subject heading.
- Enhanced Electronic Grammars Online (EEG) This link opens in a new windowFeatures comprehensive descriptions of languages from around the world. Full grammars are made available together in an interlinked and semantically-annotated format, allowing granular access to the grammatical data and enabling cross-language research of several grammars at the same time. Updated biannually.
Need a Dictionary?
If you need a dictionary of a specific language from the library, search for the following subject terms in the UCLA library catalog:
XXXX dictionaries (e.g. Tajik dictionaries; Hungarian dictionaries)
XXXX XXXX dictionaries (e.g. Tajik English dictionaries; Hungarian French dictionaries)
The search will lead to books that have that subject heading.
- BrillOnline Dictionaries This link opens in a new windowIncludes 11 dictionaries and over 150 different languages. Contains etymological dictionaries of: Armenian, Greek, Hittite, Iranian Verb, Latin, Luvian, Old Frisian, Persian, Proto-Celtic, Proto-Germanic, Proto-Nostratic, Slavic, and Tocharian B.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowIncludes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
Linguistic Atlases and Maps
- Treasury of Linguistic Maps This link opens in a new windowPresents linguistic maps selected from various atlases and other publications that have been published over the years by De Gruyter Mouton and other De Gruyter imprints.
- The atlas of North American English : phonetics, phonology, and sound changeA multimedia reference tool by William Labov
- CALS: Conlang Atlas of Language StructuresA community-based version of WALS solely focusing on conlangs (constructed languages).