Articles Databases
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials in the fields of linguistics, language behavior, and related disciplines, as well as books, book chapters, occasional papers, technical reports and dissertations.
- SIL Language & Culture ArchivesThe SIL (Summer Institute of Linguistics) Archive is not a general database on linguistics, anthropology, translation or literacy. It contains articles by SIL members, as well as publications by non-members that were published by SIL. The Archives can be searched by author, title, subject, country name or language name. Some full-text articles. For citations without full text, look up the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog in order to locate a print copy.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new windowAn index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated.
Online Journals
Please note that this is not an exhaustive list.
- Journal of the International Phonetic Associationsee also Illustrations of the IPA box on this page
Open Access Journals
- eLanguageHome of several open access journals provided by the Linguistic Society of America.
- DOAJ This link opens in a new windowThe Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
- Semantics and PragmaticsSemantics and Pragmatics, founded in 2007 and first published in 2008, is a Diamond Open Access journal published by the Linguistic Society of America.
Illustrations of the IPA
- Selected Illustrations of the IPAList of where to find selected illustrations of the IPA that are not included in the IPA handbook.
The Illustrations of the IPA are a series of short articles in the Journal of the International Phonetic Association(JIPA) that exemplify the use of the symbols in the International Phonetic Alphabet. Each IPA Illustration describes the consonants, vowels, and prosodic features of the language, and provides a short text in the language, usually the well-known fable The North Wind and the Sun (attributed to Aesop). The Illustrations published in JIPA up through 1997 are also published in the Handbook of the International Phonetic Association(Cambridge University Press, 1999).
Kenneth Olson has created a very helpful web page listing IPA Illustrations in alphabetical order by language.