Library Catalog
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Requesting Books
The majority of books published in the US in mathematics in the past five years are currently in the UCLA Library Catalog, whether we own them or not. If a student or faculty member finds a book in the catalog with the note: Call Number: UCLA faculty and students ONLY: Click on "Request an Item" button and select "Buy this item-Purchase Request" to ask Library to order this, he or she can use that button to place a purchase request. The item should arrive within three weeks and the person who requested it will be notified. in the catalog, type pdacq and math? to see a sample of the materials available.
E-book Collection
- Cambridge eBooks
This link opens in a new window
This collection includes most science and engineering titles from 2014 to present. - Elsevier (ScienceDirect) eBooks 2013-present
- This link opens in a new window
This collection covers science, technology, and health sciences disciplines (excluding specialty medical titles). After searching, limit to Book Chapters. - MIT Press eBooks Library: The Computing & Engineering CollectionThe collection includes more than 450 titles from 1943 to the present in the fields of computer science and engineering technologies, including artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education (OHE)Programming and information technology e-books, many up-to-date titles.
- SIAM E-book This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics ebooks
- Springer E-books 2005-present
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly every Springer e-book (~120,000 titles) published in English and German from 2005 to present, across many disciplines.
- Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection.
- Wiley E-books 2011-presentIncludes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
Reference Sources
- A Concise Handbook of Mathematics, Physics, and Engineering SciencesThis resource takes a practical approach to the basic notions, formulas, equations, problems, theorems, methods, and laws that most frequently occur in scientific and engineering applications and university education.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics, Second EditionOnline compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references.
- Dictionary of Classical and Theoretical MathematicsContaining more than 1,000 entries, the Dictionary of Classical and Theoretical Mathematics focuses on mathematical terms and definitions of critical importance to practicing mathematicians and scientists. This single-source reference provides working definitions, meanings of terms, related references, and a list of alternative terms and definitions.
- Digital Library of Mathematical FunctionsDigital handbook of mathematical functions with formulas, graphs, and mathematical tables. Managed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
- Oxford User's Guide to MathematicsThis book represents a comprehensive handbook on mathematics covering analysis, algebra, geometry, foundations of mathematics, calculus of variations and optimization, theory of probability and mathematical statistics, numerical mathematics and scientific computing, and history of mathematics.
- Smithsonian Physical Tables, Ninth Revised EditionThis reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.