E-journals in Bioengineering
Browse Journals in Bioengineering from your tablet, phone or desktop using BrowZine! BrowZine is a browsable newsstand of the library's top journals. Easily discover, read, and monitor the key journals in your field.
Article Databases in Bioengineering
Note that many of these sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.
To access full text:
- Use the gold Get it at UC button to do an automated search to find the full text
- Search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog, or
- Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text
For more tips, see our guide on database searching.
See entire list of Article Databases - Science and Engineering here. If you are looking for a specific article, use citation linker.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts to over 5000 engineering journals from 1884 to the present, conferences and technical reports in the fields of chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics, communications, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. Coverage is from 1884 to the present; print equivalent is Engineering Index.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the life sciences, including scientific journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for articles in the life sciences. - SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the most comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article, patent, and conference references, the CAS Registry of 161 million chemical substances (many include property data) & CASREACT database of 126 million chemical reactions and preparations. Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure). Already registered? Go directly to SciFinder-n.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than five-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Does not include Draft Standards. - Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles in over 4000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Most citations include abstracts. Full-text is available for many articles. Corresponds to the print publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts. 1969 to present; Inspec Archive 1898-1968. - Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie, and Gmelin's Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. Provides chemical data on organic substances and reactions, including structures, properties, bioactivity records, preparation details and specific reaction pathways; also provides citations and some abstracts to the primary organic chemistry literature.The MarvinSketch structure editor works with the campus VPN, but not the proxy server.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase provides essential biomedical evidence from evidence-based content, along with deep biomedical indexing and search forms to assist in building search strategies. - MRS Online Proceedings Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Materials Research Society (MRS) is an organization of materials researchers from academia, industry, and government that promotes communication for the advancement of interdisciplinary materials research to improve the quality of life. - Materials Science & Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Featuring content from 1962 to present, supports numerous areas of both materials science research and engineering. Includes scholarly articles, as well as patents, conference proceedings, and government reports. - SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 275,000 technical papers on optics and photonics from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings published from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually.
Trade Publication Articles
Locating articles from trade journals is easiest if you know the specific association or publication you want to look at. Generally, accessing the publications through the association/publication webpage is easiest. To search within the library collection, try the following places:
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large platform covering multiple databases. Within the platform, select "Trade Journals" as the Source Type to see their offerings. - IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than five-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. For trade publications, filter to magazine articles, most of which are trade journals. - ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text articles published in ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) periodicals and proceedings since 1947. Select "magazines" to see ACM trade publications.
- UCLA Library CatalogUCLA Library Catalog covers many types of resources. For trade publications, your best bet is to search for your topic then filter to "magazine articles". Some, but not all, of the results will be trade publications.
- Trans Tech Publications (scientific.net)The research reported in these 15 publications reflects high impact global contributions from scientists, engineers and materials scientists in the new areas and applications of these fields, including their intersections and emerging innovations and is among some of the most highly cited literature.