Tibetan Studies

Online database of more than ten thousand Tibetan-language research articles published in the People’s Republic of China (PRC). Many English abstracts provided. Also includes contents of Rig gnas lo rgyus series and the English-language journals Tibet Studies and China Tibetology.

In the 1980s Professor Ngag dbang tshul khrims (of the South West Nationalities University in Chengdu, Sichuan (People's Republic of China) started to collect manuscripts containing texts written in the Rgyalrong language as well as texts in Tibetan pertaining to Rgyalrong history, culture, religion, etc. At the moment the Collection Awang consists of more than one hundred manuscripts and texts. This project is hosted by the Latse Library.

(Chinese answer to Google's scanning of key library resources.) All out-of-copyright contents (pre-modern literature, monographs in the Republic era, old English books, etc.) are FREE to everyone! Copyrighted materials are only available to institutions owning the material. They even allow you to draw a Chinese character by using your mouse and then search against their calligraphy database!

Note: English search engine using Xizang yieled no results, so I am not sure how useful this is, except for orienting yourself to the website.

The Science Journal in Tibetan has been published bi-annually every year since 2000. The Journal includes translation of writings and articles on science and interdisciplinary subjects meant for comparative studies by various Tibetan scholars and monks. The primary goal of the journal is to increase interdisciplinary studies amongst Tibetan scholars.

The full text issues of this journal can be downloaded at http://www.thlib.org/collections/texts/jiats/#jiats=/downloads/.