UCLA Library Databases Useful for Tibetan Studies
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowAnthropology Plus brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index covers core periodicals internationally in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals from the late 19th century to the present.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Includes backfiles and current issues of American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, NAPA Bulletin, and PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review, plus a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century onwards. Coverage includes performance art and installation works, photography, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion; includes articles written in 36 languages.
- Biography Index Past and Present (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndex of biographical books and articles from 1946 to present.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles from 1969 to the present and ERIC documents since 1966 on educational research and practice.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers research, policy, and practice literature from 1970 to the present.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSearches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new windowAn index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text publications focusing on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts library and information science periodicals, monographs, selected state library journals, conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets. Some full-text available. Topics include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation, classification, copyright, education for librarianship, employment opportunities, library schools, online searching, personnel management, preservation of materials, and publishing trends. The database also cites book reviews.
- Linguistic Bibliography OnlineFormerly "Bibliographie linguistique online"; Provides bibliographical references to scholarly publications on all branches of linguistics and all the languages of the world, irrespective of language or place of publication.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials in the fields of linguistics, language behavior, and related disciplines, as well as books, book chapters, occasional papers, technical reports and dissertations.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text.
- Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation indexes including humanities and social sciences.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.
- Bioline InternationalBioline International is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries.
