Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

More Ways to Find Databases

Access to Online Resources

The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the following methods.

Research Assistance

Research assistance is available in person, by phone, by e-mail, or via 24/7 online chat.

New Databases

Loading...
Digitized primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more. Contributing repositories include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation, Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, Women's Energy Bank, GLBT Historical Society, National Library of Medicine, and more. UCLA subscribes to Parts I and II.
Thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic American civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare books and newspapers are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included.
Collection of 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery with a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society.
Readex
Central Daily News was first published in Shanghai in February 1928, and has been the official news media for the KMT (Kuomintang) government for years. This online database covers page image access from 1928 to 2006.
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune [1849-1994].
Chicago Daily Tribune; Chicago Press and Tribune
Clinical reference tool written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis. Topics are based on clinical evidence and content is updated to ensure physicians have timely information for point of care decisions. Includes overviews and recommendations, graphics and images, expert reviewers, specialty content, and mobile access.
Embase provides essential biomedical evidence from evidence-based content, along with deep biomedical indexing and search forms to assist in building search strategies.
Online access to historical graphic magazine Fuzoku Gaho, which was originally published in Tokyo between February 1889 and March 1916. Covers social and cultural trends and conditions in the Edo, Meiji, and Taisho periods. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
New
A collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
Digitized primary source documents that explore how advertising works, company culture, how decisions are made, the effect that the industry may have had over wider culture, and how culture interacts with advertising.
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines.
canopy
Featuring content from 1962 to present, supports numerous areas of both materials science research and engineering. Includes scholarly articles, as well as patents, conference proceedings, and government reports.
New
These rarely collected, Rock, Folk and Hip Hop, widely scattered, and now sought after publications present a unique record of popular culture, music journalism, and social and political transition in the late 20th century, making them invaluable primary sources to researchers.
Personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.
Online version of the print journal Oriental Economist originally published in Japan monthly between 1934 and 1985 and weekly between January 1946 and August 1952. One of few commercial journals in English with a focus on the Asian economy that lasted over 50 years from the pre-war period. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Annotated bibliographies by topic to important and recent scholarship in art and architectural history.
Interdisciplinary reference articles on modernism, including sections on Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents. Regularly updated with new content.
Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.
Compiled in the Qianlong period of the Qing dynasty, e-version of the largest collection of texts in pre-modern China. Contains titles in 36,000+ volumes. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
State Papers Online offers original historical government materials, including correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators present a full picture of Tudor and Stuart Britain. Dates of coverage include 1509-1782.
Includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection.
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
US Major Dailies
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1987 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post [1877-2001].
title
Loading...