Primary Sources Online
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
All editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. - Brill's New Pauly Supplements Online / Der Neue Pauly Supplemente Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Series I and Series II -- Reference works for study of the ancient world and its reception in later centuries, including the acclaimed Historical Atlas of the Ancient World. Ranging from comprehensive lists of rulers and dynasties that made their mark on history to the biographies of scholars throughout the ages who shaped our knowledge of the classics. - Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated, English translations of Felix Jacoby's German translations of Greek classics. Combines Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker I-III; Brill’s New Jacoby, a new English edition of FgrHist I-IIII ; Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker IV; and, Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker V. - Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated, English translations of Felix Jacoby's German translations of Greek classics. Combines Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker I-III; Brill’s New Jacoby, a new English edition of FgrHist I-IIII ; Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker IV; and, Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker V. - Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations; includes epic and lyric poetry, tragedy, comedy, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, medicine, and mathematics, among other contents.
- Supplementum Epigraphicum GraecumAll SEG volumes, and will incorporate all future volumes in the series.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TLG has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 and beyond. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Individual login account required, in addition to campus authentication. - Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A monumental dictionary of Latin. It encompasses the Latin language from the time of its origin to the time of Isidore of Seville (d.636).
Primary Sources at Special Collections of UCLA
UCLA Department of Special Collections Special Collections has several collections particularly useful for those interested in classical antiquity. In recent years, the Department has had two exhibitions concerned with classical antiquity: "The Development of Classical Scholarship" and "Philodemus and Greek Papyri."
- Ahmanson-Murphy Aldine CollectionThe Department's Aldine Collection is the largest in North America and rivals in size the largest collections in Europe. The press itself began publishing in 1495 and ceased in 1597. Aldus Manutius (ca 1452-1515) and his heirs published the first editions of Aeschylus, Aristotle, Demosthenes, most of Euripides, Herodotus, Pindar, Plato, Sophocles, Thucydides, Xenophon et al. See "The Aldine Press" (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2001).
- Ahmanson-Murphy Collection of Early Italian Printing to 1600The collection includes approximately 5,000 volumes, many of which are by classical authors or treat classical antiquity. There are notable groups of books printed by Blado, Giolito de Ferrari, the Giuntas, Jenson, and Ratdolt.
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina / moderante Paul TombeurContains over 600 works from almost 300 authors, providing access to all the Latin texts of antiquity from the beginning until the end of the second century A.D.
- A Collection of Dissertations on Greek and Roman Antiquity, 1813-1939(coll. 357t). Approximately 1500, mostly German, dissertations (1813-1939) concerned with classical antiquity. The finding aid includes both author and text, subject and name indexes.
- Edward Noon O'Neil Collection(coll. 628: in process). This collection includes the nearly complete typescript and manuscript 'Index verborum Plutarcheus' prepared by William B. Helmbold and E. N. O'Neil, but never published: unlike the Thesaurus linguae Graecae, the indexers take cognizance of the apparatus criticus. The Loeb Classical Library index to the Moralia was excerpted from another, larger, typescript. In addition, there is considerable unpublished matter on the late Roman poet Maximianus and course-notes concerned with Plutarch, the New Testament, et al.
- Gonzalez Lodge Collection(coll. 563, twenty boxes). The library of Gonzalez Lodge (1863-1942), who is best remembered for his "Lexicon Plautinianum", is divided between Columbia University, New York; Franklin & Marshall College; and UCLA. UCLA's portion consists of about 900 books and bound pamphlets and offprints, chiefly treating Latin grammar, Caesar, Cicero, Livy, Seneca, Tacitus, and Terence.
- Louis Havet Collection(coll. 606, six boxes). Louis Havet (1849-1925), whose classical library was acquired by the University of California, was a notable Latinist, working on Nonius, Plautus, Propertius and others.
- Mike Wasserman collection of Latin mottoes[not processed]
- Paul Friedländer Papers(coll. 1551, 46 boxes). Paul Friedländer (1882-1968) was perhaps the most eminent classical scholar to teach at UCLA. Removed from his chair at Halle because he was Jewish, and imprisoned for six weeks at Sachsenhausen, Rudolf Bultmann arranged for his release and, in 1939, Friedlaender and his family emigrated. His papers include letters from Bultmann, E. R. Curtius, Albin Lesky, Paul Maas, Ulrich von Wilamowitz-Moellendorff as well as Thomas Mann. The correspondence with Wilamowitz has been published in the Department's Occasional Papers series.
- Truesdell S. Brown Papers(collection 390, 24 boxes). Brown (1906-1992) was Professor of History at UCLA (1947-1973). He specialized in the Hellenistic historians. His collection consists primarily of offprints.