Classical and Byzantine Studies

From the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut

Online guide with information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world.

A Classics blog.

In the Archaeological Bibliography you can search for monographs and articles from approx. 2,700 journals and articles from congress reports and festschrifts, etc. The bibliography contains the literature on Graeco-Roman culture and its peripheral cultural and also literature on Etruscan, Minoan and Mycenaean culture, the Anatolian cultures, prehistory and ancient history including epigraphy and numismatics.

News stories of archaeological and historical interest from around the world.

This resource contains approximately 250 out-of-print volumes of the CVA in a searchable digitized format. New fascicles may be added at the discretion of the publishing museums.

Oxford University Press, 1929.

This site is dedicated to exploring the Forma Urbis Romae, or Severan Marble Plan of Rome. This site presents 1,186 of the surviving fragments and 87 fragments known only from Renaissance drawings in a fully searchable database.

The Pylos Regional Archaeological Project (PRAP) is a multi-disciplinary, diachronic archaeological expedition formally organized in 1990 to investigate the history of prehistoric and historic settlement and land use in western Messenia in Greece, in an area centered on the Bronze Age administrative center known as the Palace of Nestor.

by Signe Isager, ZPE 1998

A searchable multilingual database, Greek original with English and German translation.

Searchable archive of Greek and Roman texts in English translation.

History of the Roman poet Ovid.

by Luc Brisson

ed. Mayhoff (Teubner)

The current Roman Provincial Coinage Online project is confined to the Antonine period (AD 138–192). The database is based on the ten most important and accessible collections in the world, and on all published material. It comprises one of the largest collections of images and related inscriptions from the ancient world which is searchable by iconography, place, and time.

Searchable database of Greek coins.

The AIA promotes archaeological inquiry and public understanding of the material record of the human past to foster an appreciation of diverse cultures and our shared humanity.

The AAH is the premier organization of Ancient History professionals in the United States and Canada. Membership is open to all persons with an interest in ancient history.

The UCLA Classical Society is an officially recognized student organization sponsored by the Department of Classics. The Society is an organization of students, faculty, and affiliated members of the UCLA community with a shared interest in the literature, culture and art of ancient Greece and Rome.

CAA, as the preeminent international leadership organization in the visual arts, promotes these arts and their understanding through advocacy, intellectual engagement, and a commitment to the diversity of practices and practitioners.

Eta Sigma Phi is the official honorary society for classical studies. Activities and events are administered by the Classical Society.

The SAA is an international organization that is dedicated to research about and interpretation and protection of the archaeological heritage of the Americas.

Advancing knowledge, understanding, and appreciation of the ancient Greek and Roman world and its enduring value.

Has published reviews on works in Classical and Byzantine studies since 1990. Reviews are also posted on their blog.

A blog with open access material on the ancient world.

From the Library of Congress. Shows standard ways of writing ancient Greek letters and words in Roman (English) script.