Industry Data
- Business Databases by CategoryFrom the UCLA Anderson School of Management Rosenfeld Library, this page lists available Library databases by category, including market research, technology, and company information. NOTE: some databases are only available to Anderson students.
- Variety Intelligence Platform (VIP +) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing analysis, market research, and data for film, television, and digital entertainment. Includes special reports covering such topics as digital marketing and publishers, streaming, virtual reality, and artificial intelligence. Also includes daily commentary on news and industry trends and corporate analysis. - Sage Data (powered by Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time-series data, with integrated analysis and mapping tools. - ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, from 2013 to the present. Volumes covering 1879-2012 are on the US Census site.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 20 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as crosstab functionality with the Simmons NCS data. Premium market segment data is available from the PRIZM, ConneXions, and P$YCLE datasets enabling researchers to identify target market segments based on lifestyle, tech usage, and income. Localized survey data is available from the Nielsen Scarborough dataset, along with detailed financial data from the Financial CLOUT dataset. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level. - SRDS.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) provides media rates (ad prices) and related data for advertisers. It lists advertising rates, editorial or programming content, circulation, and other basic information for a broad range of media selling advertising space. SRDS also contains selected demographic and market information for metropolitan areas and counties. Includes Claritas 360, for the study of consumer market segments, which works only with Google Chrome.
- Nielsen Television Index (1954-1965)Housed in Performing Arts Special Collections. Includes program audience estimates.
- Nielsen Report on Television (1977-1979)Broad industry-level report on television audiences in the United States. Does not include program-level information.
- Standard & Poor's Industry SurveysBroad yearly data and reports on specific industries, including entertainment.
- International Motion Picture Almanac (1929-2014)Includes yearly lists of top grossing films, plus broad statistics on moviegoing trends, production, and ratings.
- Film Daily Yearbook of Motion Pictures (1918-1970)Includes historical industry-level data on film stocks, distribution, and exhibition.
- International Television & Video Almanac (1956-present)Includes industry-level data on top yearly primetime programs, top cable networks, and general introductory essays on the state of the industry.
- Hollywood Reporter Book of Box Office Hits (1939-1995)Includes data on the top five films from each year, for 1939-1995.
- George Lucas's Blockbusting: A Decade by Decade SurveyCovers 1910s to 2005. Includes decade overviews and select data on box office and production costs for top-grossing films.
- Art Murphy's Boxoffice Register (1982-1995)Includes North American box office stats for select years (1982-1995).
- European Audiovisual Observatory Yearbook (2003-present)Includes country profiles, data on population and equipment, and a volume on film and home video. Though focused on Europe, some data is relevant to the U.S. market.
- Encyclopedia of Exhibition (1989-2007)From the National Association of Theatre Owners (NATO), includes broad statistics on movie screens, admissions, VHS and DVD markets, and individual film grosses by studio. Newer edition is online from NATO for individual subscribers only.
Some data sets are readily available online. However, specific demographic data are often only offered by specific companies for a high price, and some historical data can be difficult to locate. Below are some freely available online sites with select industry data.
- Box Office GuruBox office statistics, though the origins of the stats are not always clear.
- BoxOffice ProFrom Box Office Magazine, contains box office data (only select historical) and offers free box office report subscription.
- Center for Scholars and Storytellers Reports (UCLA)Includes several reports on film, television, and theater entertainment, including "Beyond Checking a Box: A Lack of Authentically Inclusive Representation Has Costs at the Box Office."
- Focus: World Film MarketContains select industry numbers from different countries, 1998-present.
- Futon CriticIncludes recent basic stories and ratings on the television industry.
- Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media: Research ReportsThe Institute compiles reports on industry topics related to gender disparity both on screen and behind the camera.
- Hollywood Diversity Report (UCLA Bunche Center)A yearly report (2014-present) on diversity in the industry from the UCLA Bunche Center for African American Studies.
- Hollywood Writers ReportFrom the Writers' Guild of America, this report "provides new information on the progress of women, minority, and older writers on the television employment front."
- IMDb: Internet Movie DatabaseFreely available vast database with filmographic information, links to reviews, and some box office data.
- It's a Man's (Celluloid) World (2022)Annual report led by Dr. Martha M. Lauzen that studies female representation in front of and behind the camera for top-grossing Hollywood films.
- MPAA Research and ReportsIncludes industry reports, theatrical market statistics, and state by state reports on the motion picture industry.
- Netflix Top 10Limited data from Netflix on global top 10 most viewed titles, arranged by country.
- Nielsen InsightsNielsen's blog with very select stories and data. A useful source for keeping up with current trends in viewership and new media delivery.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook: Entertainment and SportsFrom the Bureau of Labor Statistics, includes median pay, number of jobs, and basic information on training for various jobs.
- Radio's Online History ResourceFull text scans of historical broadcasting magazines in the fields of radio and television. Includes Broadcasting Magazine, Broadcasting Yearbook, Radio Annual, and more.
- Showbuzz DailyEntertainment industry news, reviews, and some viewership data for box office and television.
- The State of Social Impact Entertainment (SIE)From March 2019, this report from the Skoll Center for Social Impact Entertainment at UCLA and Participant Media includes facts and figures, as well as industry overviews.
- TV by the NumbersIncludes industry news and select data on broadcast and cable television, as well as some new media.
- Variety.comVariety is one of the most authoritative sources for box office data. However, the online site primarily searches articles instead of data sets. Use the database Nexis Uni to also search for articles in Variety and Daily Variety.
- What We Watched: A Netflix Engagement Report (2023 - )Twice yearly report from Netflix, reporting on what people watched on Netflix over a six month period, including hours viewed for every title — original and licensed — watched for over 50,000 hours.
- Women's Media Center ReportsCompiles data and offers analysis on women's representation in media, including Oscar and Emmy nominations, news media, and overall status in the media landscape.
The UCLA Library does not license databases and other online resources that can't be accessed by IP address for the campus community, that require a unique individual password, or are prohibitively restrictive or costly. Some industry data tools and directories are in this category, including:
- Online Nielsen reports
- Baseline
- IMDb Pro
- Variety Ultimate and Insight
- iSpot.tv
- SNL Kagan
- Studio System (Gracenote)
- NATO's Encyclopedia of Exhibition