Local News—Southern California
Selected Southern California newspapers are listed below:
- California Newspaper Project (CNP)Based at UC Riverside's Center for Bibliographic Studies and Research, the CNP is a project to identify, describe and preserve California newspapers. It covers over 1,400 repositories, inventorying close to 9,000 California newspapers. The CNP does not hold newspapers in its offices. Its database allows researchers to narrow their contacts to institutions holding the relevant titles.
- California Digital Newspaper CollectionOver 5,460,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers. Click on Help to see how to search this database.
- California Eagle (Los Angeles)A major African American newspaper in Los Angeles from 1879 through 1964. The microfilm has been digitized by the Internet Archive, which has its own search platform.
- Daily News (Woodland Hills)Much of the paper's reporting is targeted toward readers in suburban areas of Los Angeles. Special attention is given to high technology, banking, petroleum, aerospace, entertainment, insurance, and the large local universities, UCLA and USC.
- Los Angeles Herald ExaminerAvailable on microfilm. Search the title for earlier years and slight title changes. Previous title: Los Angeles Evening Herald and Express.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Major Black newspaper in Los Angeles, covering May 17, 1934 - 2010. For access to current issues see Ethnic NewsWatch.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
Data
- Census DataData from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online data and mapping application with access to more than 10,000 indicators for U.S. demographics, housing and real estate, income, mortgages, health, and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports and upload your own data without expensive software and training. Online access restricted to UCLA. - Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical demographic and social data, plus online tools to create custom maps and reports. Optional personal login account required to save and share projects online.
- Charity NavigatorThe Number #1 independent charity evaluator, covering the financial health of more than 5,500 of the largest charities in the United States.
- Los Angeles Data Justice HubOpen sources of data organized thematically around social justice topics. Includes data sets focused on Los Angeles and on the US more broadly.
- AskCHISAskCHIS is an online health query system that allows you to quickly search for health statistics on your county, region, and state. The resource draws upon the responses of more than 20,000 Californians interviewed each year by The California Health Interview Survey (CHIS). Resource created by the UCLA Center for Health Policy Research.
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsProvides transportation statistics.
- Other Neighborhood Data SourcesDemographics, Business and Economics, Environment, Crime, Education, Health, and Social Services
Images and Multimedia
- Calisphere This link opens in a new windowOver one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
- UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.