Selected Resources for Finding Books
- Gothic ArchiveIn its present state, The Gothic Archive is a growing digital collection of late eighteenth and nineteenth-century British Gothic chapbooks and related materials held in a variety of private and research libraries in the United States, Canada, and Europe. The chapbooks have been digitized or transcribed and linked to summaries and supplemental materials.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Also known as LION. An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature.
- Project Gutenberg: Books in Gothic FictionProject Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks with a collection of gothic fiction books.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
- WorldCat.orgFreely available version of the OCLC combined catalog of books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide.
UCLA Library Locations for Books and Other Print Materials
The majority of printed books found in this guide are located at the following library locations:
- Arts Library: Core collection of film history and criticism. Greatest strength is in English-language books, but does selectively collect some European-language books and periodicals.
- Charles E. Young Research Library (YRL): Houses research-level collections in the humanities and social sciences, including the majority of UCLA's international books and periodicals.
- Library Special Collections (LSC): Unique and rare materials that do not circulate; follow the link for information on searching and requesting LSC materials. Refer also to this FAQ page.
- Powell Library: Focuses on collections that primarily support undergraduate curricula in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics.
- Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF): Off-site storage facility for all campus libraries; most materials can be delivered to an on-campus library for pick-up (look for a "request" link when viewing an SRLF item in the library catalog).
For a complete list of UCLA Library locations and hours, go here.
Sample Library of Congress Search Headings
The UCLA Library uses the Library of Congress (LOC) Classification to organize its holdings. Searching LOC's standardized subject headings can help you find books on specific topics, authors, and genres in UC Library Search. To find more relevant subject headings, look at individual catalog records that are relevant to your topic—you will find subject headings listed in the "Details" section under "Subject". You can also browse UC Library Search by Library of Congress Subject Heading (LCSH) here; just select the option in the dropdown. Some examples are:
Browsing the Stacks
If you like browsing at the library, it can be useful to know the Library of Congress call number ranges. Below are some ranges that are relevant to this guide. For the complete list, see the Library of Congress Classification Outline (look for P -- Language and Literature).
Subclass PN
PN1-6790 Literature (General)
Subclass PQ
PQ1-3999 French literature
PQ4001-5999 Italian literature
PQ6001-8929 Spanish literature
Subclass PR
PR1-9680 English literature
Subclass PS
PS1-3626 American literature
Subclass PT
PT1-4897 German literature