Online Databases
- Annee Philologique This link opens in a new windowAn international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and all aspects of classical studies. Citations and abstracts for books, journal articles, festschriften, and other collections from the mid 1950s onwards, except for the most recent three or four years. Also known as Database of Classical Bibliography.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion; includes articles written in 36 languages.
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina This link opens in a new windowAll editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts.
- Brill's New Pauly Supplements Online / Der Neue Pauly Supplemente Online This link opens in a new windowSeries I and Series II -- Reference works for study of the ancient world and its reception in later centuries, including the acclaimed Historical Atlas of the Ancient World. Ranging from comprehensive lists of rulers and dynasties that made their mark on history to the biographies of scholars throughout the ages who shaped our knowledge of the classics.
- Corpus Inscriptionum LatinarumComprehensive collection of ancient Latin inscriptions from all corners of the Roman Empire.
- DYABOLA This link opens in a new windowDYABOLA (Dynamically Accumulating Database on Objects and Literature About Antiquity) provides citations to books, articles, and essays on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology. CHECK THE BOX "ACTIVATE IP ACCESS" before clicking on the start button. Three databases are licensed:
1. Archäologische Bibliographie: references monographs, articles and reviews on Classical Archaeology, Etruscology, Minoan Archaeology, and Prehistory.
2. Monographien der Bibliographie zur Vor- und Frühgeschichte Europas (RGK), 1992-2006;
3. Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts. - Eustathius of Thessalonica, Commentary on the Iliad This link opens in a new windowThis online publication offers the complete critical edition of Eustathius’ Commentary on the Iliad by Marchinus van der Valk, printed in 4 volumes by Brill (Commentarii ad Homeri Iliadem pertinentes ad fidem Codicis Laurentiani editi, 1971-1987), as well as a new critical edition of Eustathius’ Commentary on the Odyssey, edited by Eric Cullhed (University of Uppsala) and S. Douglas Olson (University of Minnesota).
- Eustathius of Thessalonica, Commentary on the Odyssey This link opens in a new windowThis online publication offers a new text edition of the Byzantine scholar and rhetorician Eustathius of Thessalonica’s Commentary on the Odyssey, composed during the latter half of the twelfth century CE.The Commentary collects material from a wide range of different sources which explain or expand on words, phrases and ideas in the Homeric epic.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.
- Jacoby Online This link opens in a new windowAnnotated, English translations of Felix Jacoby's German translations of Greek classics. Combines Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker I-III; Brill’s New Jacoby, a new English edition of FgrHist I-IIII ; Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker IV; and, Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker V.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics This link opens in a new windowOxford Bibliographies Online: Classics has access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources. Oxford Bibliographies in Classics provides students and scholars with a reliable resources, and helpful search tools to find the right sources in all media
- Supplementum Epigraphicum GraecumAll SEG volumes, and will incorporate all future volumes in the series.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
TLG has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 and beyond. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Individual login account required, in addition to campus authentication.
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new windowA monumental dictionary of Latin. It encompasses the Latin language from the time of its origin to the time of Isidore of Seville (d.636).
Standard Encyclopedias
- A Dictionary of Greek and Roman Biography and MythologySmith, Sir William, London: John Murray, 1876. YRL Ref. DE 5 S66di v. 1-3
- A Dictionary of Greek and Roman GeographySmith, Sir William, London: John Murray, 1878. YRL Ref. DE 25 S66 di v. 1-2
- Oxford Classical Dictionary, fourth editionHornblower, Simon / Spawforth, Antony, New York: Oxford University Press, 2012. YRL Ref. DE 5 O9 2012
- The Oxford Dictionary of ByzantiumKazhdan, Alexander P., ed., New York: Oxford University Press, 1991, 3v. YRL Ref. DE 521 O93 1991
- Paulys Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, Stuttgart: J. B. Metzler, 1894-1972. YRL Ref. DE 5 P28
- On-line portions
- Index: Gartner, Hans / Wunsch, Albert, Paulys Realencyclopaedie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft ... Register, Munich: Druckenmueller, 1980. YRL Ref.: DE 5 P28 Sup. Index 1980
- Index: Murphy, J. P., Index to the Supplements and Supplementary volumes of Pauly Wissowa's RE, Chicago: Ares, 1976. YRL Ref.: DE 5 P28 Sup. Index. The indexes are ordinarily kept at the end of Paulys Realencyclopaedie.
Standard Bibliographies
- Bibliographie l'antiquité classique vol. 1S. Lambrino, Paris 1951 (1896-1913) (YRL Ref. Z 7016 L17b v. 1).
- This work was to appear in two volumes, but only the first, dealing with work on ancient authors, was ever published. For Realien in this period, one needs to consult Bibliotheca Philologica Classica (see above).
- Bibliotheca AntiquariaJ. A. Fabricius, Hamburg 1760 ed. 3 (YRL Z 5131 F11b 1716 [CBC/Special Collections])
- Bibliotheca GraecaJ. A. Fabricius, Hamburg 1790-1807 (reprint: Hildesheim: Georg Olms, 1967) (YRL Ref. Z 7021 F11b 1790a v. 1-14)
- Bibliotheca LatinaJ. A. Fabricius, Leipzig 1773-1774 (YRL Z 7026 F114b 1858a)
- Bibliotheca Philologica Classica(1874-1938). YRL PA 3 J25 (1874-1896, 1915-1926, 1938); YRL PA 3 J25 supp. I (1897-1937 with duplication of some earlier years). This work greatly supplements L'Année Philologique etc. More importantly, for the period 1873-1914, BPC is the chief source of information for Realien.
- Its parent series, Jahresbericht über die Fortschritte der klassische Altertumswissenschaft, includes an annual Biographisches Jahrbuch and bibliographical surveys.
- Bibliotheca scriptorum classicorumW. Engelmann / E. Preuss, Leipzig 1880-1882 ed. 4 (1700-1878) (YRL Ref. Z 7016 E57b 1880).
- Bibliotheca scriptorum classicorum et Graecorum et LatinorumR. Klussmann, Leipzig 1909-1913, four volumes (1878-1896) (YRL Ref. Z 7016 K71b). Its compiler limited himself to scholarship on ancient texts. He prepared a continuation, which was said to be preserved at the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in Munich, but that Library has no record of it.
- Dix années de bibliographie classiqueJ. Marouzeau, Paris 1927 (YRL Ref. Z 7016 A605 1969 v. 1-2). Treats the period 1914-1924.
- Gnomon(1926-) Print issues in YRL Stacks and Current Periodicals Stacks, bound and unbound volumes, YRL PA 3 G53. Each issue is likely to contain obituaries of notable scholars and notices of deaths or notable birthdays. Every other number of Gnomon contains a bibliography of recent publications.
- An Introductory Bibliography to the History of Classical Scholarship chiefly in the Nineteenth and Twentieth CenturiesW. M. Calder III / D. J. Kramer, Hildesheim: Georg Olms, 1992 (YRL Z 7016 C35 1992).
- Note: 'An Index Auctorum' was privately issued but not published.
- A supplementary volume was published but not acquired.
- L'Année PhilologiqueJ. Marouzeau et al., Paris 1924-. YRL Ref. Z 7016 A61 v. 1-81
- online edition
- L'AP omits reviews that appeared after an interval of some five years and articles relevant to the history of classical scholarship which appeared in non-classical periodicals.
- Lustrum: internationale Forschungsberichte aus dem Bericht des klassischen Altertums(1956-2007). YRL PA 3 L97 v. 1-49
Online Reference Books
- Brill's Companions to Classical Studies Online This link opens in a new windowAn expanding series of handbooks on a wide variety of subjects and persons from Classical Antiquity, and their reception in European culture. UCLA subscribes to Companions to Classical Studies Online I-V.
- A Companion to the Ancient Greek LanguageBy Egbert J. Bakker. Blackwell, 2010
- A Companion to the Latin LanguageBy James Clackson. Blackwell, 2011
- The Cambridge Ancient History"Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of the history of the ancient Mediterranean and Near East from prehistoric times to AD 600 by an international cast of editors and contributors."
- The Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Political ThoughtA general and comprehensive treatment of the political thought of ancient Greece and Rome, beginning with Homer and ending in late antiquity with Christian and pagan reflections on divine and human order.
- The Cambridge history of Hellenistic philosophy"A full account of the philosophy of the Greek and Roman worlds from the last days of Aristotle (c.320 BC) until 100 BC."
- Greek Literature. Cambridge History of Classical Literature, Volume 1"This series provides individual textbooks on early Greek poetry, on Greek drama, on philosophy, history and oratory, and on the literature of the Hellenistic period and of the Empire. A chapter on books and readers in the Greek world concludes Part 4. Each part has its own appendix of authors and works, a list of works cited, and an index."
- Latin Literature. Cambridge History of Classical Literature, Volume 2"A comprehensive, critical survey of the literature of Greece and Rome from Homer till the Fall of Rome. Among the special features are important introductory chapters by the General Editors on 'Books and Readers', discussing the conditions under which literature was written and read in antiquity."
- Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization"Contains over 40 new or completely rewritten entries on Greek and Roman society and culture, including ancient perceptions of color, gender, ghosts, masculinity, sacred laws, and theatricality, as well as new feature entries on topics such as emotions, madness, and ancient conceptions of the senses."