News Collections
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper's short-lived sister publication: Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).
- Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2019.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, including transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English. Translations of print and broadcast news, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Publications 1996-2004, are available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
- Meet the Press This link opens in a new windowIncludes streaming video of the full surviving broadcast run to date for Meet the Press (1947-present).
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new windowAP Newsroom (formerly AP Images) contains millions of photographs dating from 1826 to present day from the Associated Press. Includes thousands of graphics, audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present.
American Sources
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of bills, resolutions, hearings, debates, and other legislative documents. Also contains Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Serial Set 1789-present, and legislative histories (through Legislative Insight).
- Cold War Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new windowReports, publications, and news broadcasts offering firsthand analysis, descriptions, and viewpoints of every facet of the Cold War
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- Truman Library Online CollectionsDigitized papers of Harry S Truman and related parties.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new windowMore than 80,000 declassified documents in collections such as Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis, China and the US, Cuban Missile Crisis, El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Intelligence Community, Iran Revolution, Iraqgate, Japan and the US, Military Uses of Space, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation, Philippines, Presidential Directives, obtained through of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
- Avalon Project: The Cold WarDigital collection of state documents covering law, history, and diplomacy
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveIncludes many digital collections of government documents on the Cold War, the Korean War, and nuclear proliferation.
International Sources
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new windowThis collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. Browse sub-collections for more on subjects covered.
- Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 This link opens in a new windowBritish Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. The documents combine eyewitness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses, with a synthesis of newspaper articles and conference reports, economic assessments, and synopses on leading Chinese personalities
- Area studies: China and Southeast Asia This link opens in a new window
Digitized materials with Western perspectives and sources on China and Southeast Asia spanning several centuries, from the first British mission to China in 1792-1794 through to the mid 20th century.
- Propaganda and the Chinese Press Global Perspectives, 1946-1996 This link opens in a new windowArticles published by major communist Chinese newspapers from 1946-1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA
- Chile: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new windowThe documents in this collection offer a snapshot of Chile at the height of the Cold War.
- NATO Archives OnlineNATO Archives Online currently provides users with the opportunity to explore the first 20 years of the Alliance’s history through the Committee documents of the North Atlantic Council and its sub-committees, the Military Committee and its working groups, as well as a complete collection of NATO Publications.
- United Nations ArchivesThe archives of the United Nations covers four broad areas: the Secretaries-General, Secretariat Departments, Peacekeeping Missions, and Predecessor Organizations.