Research Guides: Cluster 60W: Politics of Cold War (Spring 2023): Secondary Sources

Book Search Tips

A quick introduction to finding books at UCLA and other UC campuses using UC Library Search:

UC Library Search
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.

Searching for biographies/autobiographies:

1. In UCLA Library Search, select "book" as "material type"

2. Add "biography" to the search term and change "keyword" to "subject."

3. Add the name of your politician as another keyword search term.

This quick tutorial and the accompanying handout (PDF) offer step-by-step instructions for finding and accessing thousands of e-Books.

The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the following methods.

class="row"> class="col-sm-12 col-md-6 mb-3"> class="card h-100">

VPN on Mac with Natalie

class="card-body"> class="embed-responsive embed-responsive-16by9">

"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science

Download a UCLA VPN

class="col-sm-12 col-md-6 mb-3"> class="card h-100">

VPN on Windows with Michael

class="card-body"> class="embed-responsive embed-responsive-16by9">

"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs

Download a UCLA VPN

Additional Platforms

Proxy for Safari on a Mac with Kate

For more information:

UCLA OnLine Proxy Server
A simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
UCLA Virtual Private Network (VPN)
A program you install on your computer. Already built-in on most mobile devices.

Databases that Index Journal Articles

This is a very select list of available article databases. If you want to look for others, go to this page and click through to your discipline (political science, sociology, history, etc.). Here you will find a selection of the most useful databases for each discipline listed.

Once you get the results in a particular database, you can limit them by date of publication, type of article or other terms.

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964.
JSTOR
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
Project MUSE
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
PAIS Index
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
UC Library Search
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.