Legislative Sources
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for research in American government, politics, legislation, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Political Handbook of the World, Congress Collection, Supreme Court Collection, and Voting and Elections Collection. (For CQ Press e-books, see Sage Knowledge.) - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of bills, resolutions, hearings, debates, and other legislative documents. Also contains Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Serial Set 1789-present, and legislative histories (through Legislative Insight). - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- The Center for Legislative Archives Index"The Center for Legislative Archives maintains this index of archival repositories and congressional collections to assist researchers in locating the papers of U.S. senators and representatives. " Not all of the collections will be digitally available, but some may.
District Research and Election Resources
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. On the Roper iPOLL page, you can search with keywords or filter by country, organization, etc.
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Database about the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and state governors. The database is divided into six categories: presidential elections, congressional elections, gubernatorial elections, campaign and election process, political parties, and voters and demographics. - Vote View"Voteview allows users to view every congressional roll call vote in American history on a map of the United States and on a liberal-conservative ideological map including information about the ideological positions of voting Senators and Representatives."
News Collections
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
Video Collections
- Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes streaming video of the full surviving broadcast run to date for Meet the Press (1947-present). - Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.
Books
A quick introduction to finding books at UCLA and other UC campuses using UC Library Search:
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Searching for biographies/autobiographies:
1. In UCLA Library Search, select "book" as "material type"
2. Add "biography" to the search term and change "keyword" to "subject."
3. Add the name of your politician as another keyword search term.
This quick tutorial and the accompanying handout (PDF) offer step-by-step instructions for finding and accessing thousands of e-Books.
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the following methods.
class="row">
class="col-sm-12 col-md-6 mb-3">
class="card h-100">
VPN on Mac with Natalie
class="card-body"> class="embed-responsive embed-responsive-16by9">"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental ScienceDownload a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
class="card-body"> class="embed-responsive embed-responsive-16by9">"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public AffairsDownload a UCLA VPN
Additional Platforms
For more information:
- UCLA OnLine Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
- UCLA Virtual Private Network (VPN)A program you install on your computer. Already built-in on most mobile devices.