Presidential Papers and Speeches
- American Presidency ProjectA searchable database of papers, speeches, and other materials related to U.S. Presidents.
Election Resources
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. On the Roper iPOLL page, you can search with keywords or filter by country, organization, etc.
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Database about the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and state governors. The database is divided into six categories: presidential elections, congressional elections, gubernatorial elections, campaign and election process, political parties, and voters and demographics. - Vote View"Voteview allows users to view every congressional roll call vote in American history on a map of the United States and on a liberal-conservative ideological map including information about the ideological positions of voting Senators and Representatives."
News Collections
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
Video Collections
- Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes streaming video of the full surviving broadcast run to date for Meet the Press (1947-present). - Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.
Background Sources
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for research in American government, politics, legislation, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Congress Collection, and Voting and Elections Collection. (For CQ Press e-books, see Sage Knowledge.)
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History
- This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States. Covers 1500 to present. - Guide to the Presidency
- This link opens in a new window
Online Guide to the Presidency is the leading reference source on the persons who have occupied the White House and on the institution of the presidency itself.