Archival Repositories
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowFinding aids for primary source collections in all UC campuses and other contributing institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.
- ArchiveGridArchiveGrid provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions such as documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives.
- California State ArchivesThe California State Archives collection is primarily comprised of records from California state agencies, the governor's office, the state legislature, and the State Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal
- L.A. as SubjectL.A. as Subject is research alliance dedicated to preserving and improving access to the archival material of Los Angeles history. The organization maintains a comprehensive directory of organizations with Los Angeles-focused archival collections.
Major Digital Repositories
- Calisphere This link opens in a new windowOver one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
- UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.
- California RevealedCalifornia State Library initiative that helps public libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, and other heritage groups digitize, preserve, and provide online access to materials documenting the state’s history, art, and cultures. Its online database includes more than 86,000 objects from over 300 partner organizations representing a diverse array of constituencies and collections
- CSUN Digital CollectionsHistorically significant documents, photographs, oral histories, artistic works and exhibit materials selected from the Oviatt Special Collections and Archives.
- Getty Research Institute Digital CollectionsDigital Collections provide free access to a growing number of digitized items from the Research Library, Special Collections, Photo Archive, and Institutional Archives. These materials include photographs, and other documents relating to Los Angeles and Southern California
- Huntington Digital LibraryAn online database of digitized material from the Huntington Library.
- Los Angeles City Historical Society Photo DatabaseLos Angeles City Historical Society's database of selected photographs in the Los Angeles City Archives. The site has approximately 650 photographs taken by Los Angeles city engineering staff from 1890s through to the 1950s. Each photograph is also accompanied by historical data, where available to the curator of the collection
- TESSA: Los Angeles Public Library Photo CollectionMore than 60,000 images from the Los Angeles Central Library History Department's Photo Collection are available online. Images have been selected to represent the history of the growth of Los Angeles and California, Southern California life, and frequently requested subjects such as major events.
- USC Digital LibraryThe USC Digital Library offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, as well as audio and video recordings. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of the libraries at the University of Southern California, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.