Genealogical Sources
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of family history research databases, including the US federal census images from 1790 to 1950. Please note there are differences in features and content between Ancestry Library Edition and Ancestry.com subscriptions for individuals.
- LA Times Obituary Database SearchIndex database of obituaries from LA Times from 1988-2004. This LA Times Obituary database is searchable by either first name, last name or a combination of the two
Oral History Sources
- UCLA Center for Oral History ResearchCOHR conducts in-depth, multi-session oral history interviews with individuals who have been a part of the history of Los Angeles and its many communities. Over 2000 interviews document a wide range of areas related to Southern California history, including the histories of Black, indigenous, people of color and immigrant communities, the arts, political activism, politics and government, and UCLA history.
- California RevealedCalifornia Revealed is a California State Library initiative that helps public libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, and other heritage groups digitize, preserve, and provide online access to materials documenting the state’s history, art, and cultures. Its online database includes more than 86,000 objects from over 300 partner organizations representing a diverse array of constituencies and collections
- Aerospace History ProjectThe Aerospace History Project documents the history of the aerospace industry in Southern California in a collaboration between USC and the Huntington Library. This one central source through the Huntington Digital Library offers over sixty oral history interviews.
- Cal State Long Beach Virtual Oral History ArchiveThe CSULB oral history collections have been assembled from a number of sources and cover topics ranging from women's social history, labor and ethnic studies to Long Beach Area history and the musical developments in Southern California. Some of the interviews in the Asian American, Mexican American and women's history collections were recorded as early as 1972 and include interviews with narrators who were born in the mid to late 19th century. Presently, more than 1000 hours with 350 very diverse narrators are available online.
- Shades of LAOral histories from various ethnic communities in Los Angeles, CA collected in 1991, interviews conducted by LA Public Library Staff as a part of the larger "Shades of LA: A Search for Visual Ethnic History" six-year project.