Skip to Main Content

Labor Studies 191A-B: Research Principles, Methods & Practices

Searching for Articles in Journals

Start with a keyword search using words relevant to your topic. When you see some articles that look interesting, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are subject terms or descriptors, click on those that seem related to your topic to get other articles on the subject.

Los Angeles Public Library

Not all articles are available in databases that UCLA subscribes to. The Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) has a number of databases available to anyone with an LAPL library card. You can get an ECARD online-no need to go to a library-but this will only be good for a short time. It is better to get the regular card from the library. The closest LAPL branch is in Westwood at 1246 Glendon Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90024.

The most useful database to try searching is Research Library (Proquest), which UCLA does not subscribe to. It has some online journals not at UCLA.

Article Databases

This is a very select list of available article databases. If you want to look for others, go to this page and click through to your discipline (political science, sociology, history, etc.)

 is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold UC-eLinks button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.

Sample search strategies are given for the topic you might be searching: