Other UCLA Library Research Guides
Data and Statistics at the Local and National Level
These resources focus on California statistics.
- California Employment Development Department Quarterly Workforce IndicatorsIncludes Los Angeles County data by age and industry including accommodations and food services and arts, entertainment and recreation.
- California Employment Development DepartmentLos Angeles County Labor Market Profile
- Industry Employment and Unemployment Rates for Metropolitan AreasIncludes labor force and industry data for metropolitan areas including Los Angeles.
- Mapping LA NeighborhoodsThe Los Angeles Times’ neighborhood map of Los Angeles County. This regional view is your portal to individual maps and statistics for 158 cities and 114 neighborhoods within the city of Los Angeles. Includes average income statistics by neighborhood. In addition, there are maps of 42 unincorporated areas collapsed inside of adjacent cities.
- Statistical AtlasThis is a commercial site that uses data from the Census.
- U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor StatisticsEconomy at at Glance for Los Angeles - Long Beach - Glendale
- Small Area Income & Poverty Estimates (SAIPE)U.S. Census Bureau estimates of income and poverty statistics for school districts, counties, and states.
- State of Working America Data LibraryAccessible, up-to-date, comprehensive historical data on the U.S. labor force, compiled by the Economic Policy Institute analysis of government data sources. Research wages, inequality, other economic indicators over time and among demographic groups.
- USA.comA local guide to cities, towns, neighborhoods, states, counties, metro areas, zip codes, area codes, schools, and school districts. Includes data by census tracts, including employment data, etc.
These sources focus more on national statistics.
- Historical Statistics of the United States-Millennial Edition Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searchable updated source of historical data on government statistics, including population, work and welfare, economics, and more.
- National Bureau of Economic Research - DataIncludes U.S. Macro data and Healthcare Data -- Hospitals, Providers, Drugs, and Devices.
- Pew Research CenterNonpartisan group that conducts polling and demographic research to explore the issues and trends shaping the nation, as well as global opinion.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical demographic and social data, plus online tools to create custom maps and reports. Optional personal login account required to save and share projects online.
- World Inequality DatabaseA database on the historical evolution of the world distribution of income and wealth, both within countries and between countries.
- Union Membership and Coverage Database from the CPSUnionstats.com provides union data by metro areas, industry sectors, and occupation
- Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts.