Finding News Articles
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press. - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
Images and Multimedia
- Calisphere This link opens in a new window
Over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
- Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive (UCLA Library Digital Collections)Due to size of the collection, this page will take a while to fully open. Covers 1918-1990.
- Los Angeles Public Library Photo CollectionMore than 60,000 images from the Los Angeles Central Library History Department's Photo Collection are available online. Images have been selected to represent the history of the growth of Los Angeles and California, Southern California life, and frequently requested subjects such as major events.
- UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.
- Los Angeles City Historical Society Photo DatabaseLos Angeles City Historical Society's database of selected photographs in the Los Angeles City Archives. The site has approximately 650 photographs taken by Los Angeles city engineering staff from 1890s through to the 1950s. Each photograph is also accompanied by historical data, where available to the curator of the collection
Neighborhood Data
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online data and mapping application with access to more than 10,000 indicators for U.S. demographics, housing and real estate, income, mortgages, health, and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports and upload your own data without expensive software and training. Online access restricted to UCLA.
- Other Neighborhood Data SourcesDemographics, Business and Economics, Environment, Crime, Education, Health, and Social Services