Welcome
The UCLA Music Library has created these playlists to help you Dance, Energize, Reflect, Relax, and Move during finals. We've also created a playlist for children (and everyone else!). We hope you can enjoy and use them! Let's Dance!
Not sure what to listen to? Try Bridget's Mix for an expert-selected sample!
All of the recordings highlighted here are in Avalon, which requires UCLA authentication to access. You can browse Avalon and listen to the thousands of tracks provided there for UCLA students, faculty and staff by the UCLA Music Library.
-
Avalon This link opens in a new window
Avalon houses streaming audio and video collections at UCLA. Content is restricted to UCLA users and requires additional UCLA authentication for use both on and off campus via the "Sign in" link.
Dance
-
3 Feet High and Rising
by
Call Number: CDA 5875De La Soul's 1989 studio debut. The album was selected to the National Recording Registry by the Library of Congress in 2010. -
Anthology : hey ho, let's go!
by
Call Number: CDA 17583This two-disc set contains material from almost every album by New York City punks the Ramones. -
La historia del tango. vol. 1
by
Call Number: CDA 17647This album features work by Argentinian composer, arranger and bandoneon virtuoso Astor Piazzolla. His ‘Nuevo tango’ style incorporated jazz, classical and other motifs into traditional tango compositions. -
Sixteen dances for soloist and company of 3 byCall Number: CDA 13910John Cage composed these pieces between 1950 & 1951, to accompany the choreography of Merce Cunningham.
Energize
-
1
by
Call Number: CDA 13532This 2000 release contains almost every #1 single the Beatles released between 1962 & 1970. -
1984
by
Call Number: CDA 5891Featuring the guitar stylings of Eddie Van Halen (who passed in October 2020). -
All Is One
by
Ethnomusicology Professor Steve Loza’s innovative 2015 album incorporates Latin, Persian, Chinese influences and more. -
Head Hunters
by
Call Number: CDA 5839Drawing inspiration from jazz, funk, R&B and more, Herbie Hancock’s 1973 classic was the first ‘jazz’ album to sell over a million copies. -
Innervisions
by
Call Number: CDA 6267Completely written, produced and arranged by Stevie Wonder, he even played every instrument on 7 of the 9 tracks. Themes include drug abuse “Too High” and systemic racism “Living for the City. -
L.A. riot grrrls : the best of 1982-1985
by
Call Number: CDA 27464Compilation featuring the best of Los Angeles deathrock/punk band the Super Heroines. This album is also featured in the UCLA Music Library Southern California Punk Collection.
Reflect
-
After the Night Falls
by
Call Number: CDA 37847Featuring Robin Guthrie (Cocteau Twins) and composer Harold Budd (passed away in December 2020), this recording is inspired by ambience, minimalism and new age. -
America's National Parks
by
Call Number: CDA 30780Inspired and provoked by the Ken Burns documentary “The National Parks: America's Best Idea”, Smith remarked, “I wanted to expand the idea of national parks, and also not make them into cathedrals, sacred ground for some kind of religious endeavor, as Burns did. -
Music for Merce, 1952-2009
Call Number: CDA 25857Merce Cunningham was an American dancer and choreographer, a MacArthur Fellow and a recipient of the National Medal of Arts. He was was renowned for his legendary collaborations with the most significant experimental musicians of the late 20th century, including John Cage, David Tudor, Gordon Mumma, Christian Wolff and more. This 10-disc collection contains compositions spanning over 6 decades, many recorded here for the first time. -
‘Altered States’ Original Soundtrack
by
Call Number: CDA 8871"John Corigliano’s Academy Award nominated score for the film “Altered States”. -
No New York
Call Number: CDA 17570Curated by Brain Eno, this compilation documents New York City’s late seventies no wave movement. -
Cosmic Music
Call Number: CDA 26510Released after John Coltrane’s death in 1967, this album features Alice Coltrane. Pharoah Sanders, Rashied Ali and others.
Relax
-
Bobby Hutcherson
by
Call Number: CDA 20435Vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson’s lesser-known mid-seventies recordings are highlighted here, featuring 5 of his albums spread over 3 discs. These recordings include ‘Cirrus’, ‘Waiting’ & ‘Knucklebean’ and feature Woody Shaw, Freddie Hubbard and Manny Boyd, among others. -
Chess Blues
Call Number: CDA 23024Founded in Chicago, Chess Records released albums by countless blues and R&B stars. This 4-disc retrospective focuses on the best and the brightest of the Chess Records roster from 1947-1967. Artists include Muddy Waters, Howlin' Wolf, Albert King, Buddy Guy, Etta James, John Lee Hooker, Willie Dixon and many, many more. -
Deep listeners : music, emotion, and trancing (Audio Supplement)
by
Call Number: CDA 17018Judith Becker’s work examines the connections between neuroscience, music, consciousness and trancing. This audio supplement contains 9 audio excerpts which illuminate particular rituals described in the text, including ‘Yak Tovil’, Qawwali, gospel, ‘kidung’ poems and more. This text is available for checkout at the Music & Biomed libraries. -
Doctors, professors, kings & queens : the big ol' box of New Orleans
Call Number: CDA 24488Compiling recordings from 1927-2003, this wide-spanning collection features examples of jazz, Cajun music, zydeco, blues, soul, funk and much more. Artists include Aaron Neville, Al Johnson, Allen Toussaint, Ellis Marsalis, Fats Domino, Jelly Roll Morton and more. -
Don't Worry, Be Happy
by
Call Number: CDA 31577Released in 1988 and featuring the ubiquitous title track, this compilation showcases the breadth and range of composer and vocalist Bobby McFerrin. It also features contributions from the late Chick Corea.
Move
-
Dance Me Dunce
by
Call Number: CDA 27854Flying through 17 songs in just over 30 minutes, F.Y.P.’s 1993 album fuses punk, pop, thrash, hard-core and even children’s rhymes into a speedy, obnoxious, chaotic and fun listen. -
Hitsville USA the Motown singles collection 1959-1971
Call Number: CDA 19715This collection presents many of the biggest hit singles released by the Motown record label between 1959-1971. These mono recordings were transferred directly from mixes released for both vinyl singles and AM radio. Artists include Diana Ross, Gladys Knight, Mary Wells, Brenda Holloway, Marvin Gaye, Smokey Robinson, the Jackson 5 and many, many more!
Music for Children
-
Big Top Pee-Wee : the original soundtrack album
by
Call Number: CDA 248321988 soundtrack recording by Los Angeles born composer and musician Danny Elfman. The soundtrack includes many circus-inspired themes as well as dialogue snippets featuring Pee-Wee Herman. -
Disney's Beauty and the beast the Broadway musical
by
Call Number: CDA 15364This Original Broadway Cast Recording was released in 1994 and features Susan Egan as Belle & Terrence Mann as Beast. “Be Our Guest, Be Our Guest” and enjoy this recording! -
Roald Dahl's Matilda the musical : original Broadway cast recording
Call Number: CDA 27129The original Broadway cast recording of the musical based on the Roald Dahl children’s novel ‘Matilda’. Detailing the adventures of Matilda, a 5-year-old with telekinesis, the show won multiple Tony and Olivier awards.