Trade Publications
- Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Lists publication details for more than 300,000 worldwide periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers). Includes information on which databases index specific journals and online availability of periodicals.
- Free Trade Magazine SourceA listing of free trade magazines
Librarian for Public Policy & Urban Planning
Journals
Journals are publications that usually consist of articles, book reviews, and/or other information relevant to a topic. Journals are often published on a schedule - quarterly, monthly, etc. Most academic journals are peer reviewed.
- Social Movement StudiesOpen access, peer reviewed academic journal
- Labor HistoryPeer reviewed, Rutledge, VPN may be required
- Sociological ForumPeer reviewed, Wiley, VPN required
- Social ForcesPeer reviewed, Oxford University Press, VPN required
Here's a list of titles of some of the other journals (not linked above) that may have content relevant to the topic of social movements:
American Sociological Review; Labour History Review (Maney Publishing); Antipode; Social Problems; Information, Communication & Society; American Journal of Sociology; Globalizations; Qualitative Sociology; New Labor Forum (Routledge); Sociological Perspectives; Labour / Le Travail; Sociological Quarterly; American Behavioral Scientist; City; Critical Sociology (Brill Academic Publishers); Environmental Politics; Journal of Homosexuality; Media, Culture & Society; Sociological Inquiry; Capital & Class; Theory & Society; Women's Studies Quarterly; Annual Review of Sociology; International Feminist Journal of Politics; NACLA Report on the Americas; Radical History Review; Social Alternatives; Sociological Review; Sociology; Women's Studies International Forum; Peace & Change; Social Justice; Voluntas: International Journal of Voluntary & Nonprofit Organizations; Women's History Review, and many more!
- Find Journals at UCLATwo ways to search: Enter a journal title in the search box.
Use the Journals by category option to browse journals by broad subject category.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review.
- Google ScholarBroad scholarly literature search. Set Scholar settings to "University of California, Los Angeles - UC-elinks" to connect with library full text.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index. - Social Science Research Network (SSRN) eLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SSRN provides access to 1000s of research publications in all disciplines. Search the library by title, author or journal/topic. Or communicate directly with authors listed in the author contact list. You may receive daily delivery of papers as authors release them.
Primary Sources
- Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source writing by women activists, including personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made.
News Databases
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press. - Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc. - Access World News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- News Resources GuideGuide to the breadth of news resources available at the Library, in addition to those listed on this page.
Major Newspapers
Access to Library Licensed versions of key newspapers.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2014].
- Sacramento Bee
- This link opens in a new window
UCLA has print and microfilm holdings of the Bee back to 1857. Please consult the UCLA Library Catalog. Available online from 1984 - 2021 through Access World News.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2018].
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2004].
- e-EDGE weekly news about LA EconomyEconomic news for the greater Los Angeles area. News and statistics at the international, national, California and local levels.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1877 to 2005. For access to current issues, see Washington Post [1987-present]. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive for The Guardian and The Observer from 1791-2003. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time