Librarian/Curator for Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies.
Alena Aissing
Contact:
A1540 Charles E. Young Research Library
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
310-206-0324
Maps
Major Muslim Ethnic Groups in Armenia, Iran, and the Islamic Commonwealth States, US Central Intelligence Agency, 1992, University of Texas at Austin Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
- University of Texas at Austin Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionHundreds of country, city, detailed, thematic and historical maps produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
- Japanese National Institute of Informatics Digital Silk Road ProjectHistorical and contemporary maps, including 3D maps, using Google Maps technology
- Indiana University Cyrillic Map CollectionSoviet era topographic maps, which were produced for defense and economic planning
Digital Collections
- British Library Central Asian CollectionsThe Central Asian collections range from the 4th century AD to the present day and cover the languages and cultures of Asia from the Caucasus as far as China in the east, and from Afghanistan to Russia in the north.
- Library of Congress Photo CollectionsLibrary of Congress hosts numerous historical images of the region.
- Freer-Sackler Museum Online CollectionThe Smithsonian Institution's gallery includes thousands of images of Asian art.
- American Geographical Society Photo ArchiveOver 7,000 images from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library, including many from Asia and the Middle East.
- University of Arizona Libraries and Kabul University Afghanistan Digital Collections"Unique collection of documents related to Afghanistan history, culture, and its development during the Jihad period and more. ACKU’s permanent collection is the most extensive in the region covering a time of war and social upheaval in the country, with most of the documents in English or the principal languages of Pashto and Dari."
- University of Nebraska Omaha Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection Digital Materials"The Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection in UNO Criss Library Archives & Special Collections is one of the largest collections of material about Afghanistan in the United States."
- New York University Afghanistan Digital Library"The Afghanistan Digital Library will retrieve and restore works published in Afghanistan between 1870 and 1930; the long-term objective is to collect, catalogue, digitize and provide access to as many of this period's publications as possible."
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Selected records from the Central State Archives of the Republic of Kazakhstan related to the evacuation to Kazakhstan during the Second World War II"The collection contains copies of the archival records related to the evacuation of civilians to Kazakhstan during WWII that includes information about resettlement, employment and food supplies and medical assistance provided by the local authorities. This collection also includes records related to the special assistance given to foreign political immigrants (mostly members of the Communist Parties of the Nazi occupied countries) who were evacuated to Kazakhstan by the Soviet authorities."
- MIT Digital CollectionsMIT's digital collections include images of Kazakh architecture.
- Hoover Institute Russia and Eurasia CollectionThis collection covers Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. Highlights include the the subject collections, the Radio Free Europe Broadcast and Corporate records, thenn Enid Schreibman papers, and more.
Other Resources
- Wilson Center "The Adventures of a Rookie in Central Asia’s Archives"Article describing experiences accessing state archives in Kazakhstan and Kyrgystan including links to their websites.