Librarian/Curator for Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies.
Alena Aissing
Contact:
A1540 Charles E. Young Research Library
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
310-206-0324
Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Research Help for complete Library research support options.
Library Catalogs
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
Finding E-Books
- E-books at UCLAA research guide to help you find the 1000s of e-books available in the UCLA Library.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
- Internet Archive: eBooks and TextsScanned public domain books from numerous research libraries, including some from the UC system.
- Project GutenburgProject Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks".
Central Asia e-books
Borderless Bazaars and Regional Integration in Central Asia by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780821394724Date: 2012
Everyday Life in Central Asia by Call Number: YRL ; DS328.2 .E94 2007. Also OnlineISBN: 9780253348838Date: 2007-06-01
Silk, Slaves, and Stupas by Call Number: YRL ; DS33.1 .W46 2018. Also OnlineISBN: 9780520281776Date: 2018-03-13
Sufism in Central Asia by Call Number: YRL ; BP188.8.A783 S84 2018. Also OnlineISBN: 9789004367876Date: 2018-08-23
Warrior Saints of the Silk Road by Call Number: YRL ; GR300 .E34 2018. Also OnlineISBN: 9789004384262Date: 2018-11-22
Afghanistan's Islam by Call Number: YRL ; BP63.A54 A39 2016. Also OnlineISBN: 9780520967373Date: 2016-12-12
The Pitfalls of Protection by Call Number: YRL ; HQ1735.6 .W54 2017. Also OnlineISBN: 9780520966390Date: 2017-05-22
The Dialogic Emergence of an Ancestral Worldview by Call Number: YRL ; DS24 .D83 2017. Also OnlineISBN: 0822964600Date: 2017-06-19
The Hungry Steppe by Call Number: YRL ; DK908.8618 .C36 2018. Also OnlineISBN: 9781501730443Date: 2018-11-15
Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Uzbekistan by Call Number: YRL ; DK266 .K393 2017. Also OnlineISBN: 1137522364Date: 2016-12-09
Kazakhstan in World War II by Call Number: YRL ; D764.7.K3 C37 2019. Also OnlineISBN: 0700628258Date: 2019-09-12
From Belonging to Belief by Call Number: YRL ; BP190.5.S35 M43 2017. Also OnlineISBN: 9780822965084Date: 2017-11-15
Have the Mountains Fallen? by Call Number: YRL ; DK918.872 .L555 2018. Also OnlineISBN: 9780253032430Date: 2018-01-25
The Impact of International Migration on Developing Countries by Call Number: YRL ; JV6115 .I46 1989ISBN: 9264132015Date: 1989-03-01- Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Uzbekistan by Call Number: YRL ; DK266 .K393 2017. Also OnlineISBN: 1137522364Date: 2016-12-09
Expressions of Sufi Culture in Tajikistan by Call Number: YRL ; BP188.8.T3 G38 2018. Also OnlineISBN: 9780299316808Date: 2018-08-28
Laboratory of Socialist Development by Call Number: YRL ; DK928.86 .K35 2018. Also OnlineISBN: 9781501715563Date: 2018-05-15
The Story of Barzu by Call Number: YRL ; GR300.72.B69 K36 2013. Also OnlineISBN: 9789087281168Date: 2013-08-15
Tajikistan's Winter Energy Crisis by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780821399675Date: 2013-08-05
Learning to Become Turkmen by Call Number: YRL ; P40.85.T93 C54 2018. Also OnlineISBN: 9780822964636Date: 2018-05-11
The Merv Oasis; Travels and Adventures East of the Caspian During the Years 1879-80-81 by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1402184174Date: 1999-01-01
The Turkmen Lake Altyn Asyr and Water Resources in Turkmenistan by Call Number: SEL/8270 Boelter Hall--Stacks ; TD109.T87 T87 2014. Also OnlineISBN: 9783642386077Date: 2013-10-17
Türkmenistan : Magtymgulynyň mekanynyň sungaty = Turkmenistan : Arts from the land of Magtymguly by Call Number: YRL ; NX575.67.T8 T39 2013ISBN: 9780972455718Date: 2013-11-30
- Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Uzbekistan by Call Number: YRL ; DK266 .K393 2017. Also OnlineISBN: 1137522364Date: 2016-12-09
Bukharan crisis : A Connected history of 18th-century Central Asia by Call Number: YRL ; DK948.83 .L48 2020. Also OnlineDate: 2020
Cinema, Nation, and Empire in Uzbekistan, 1919-1937 by Call Number: Arts Library ; PN1993.5.U9 D7513 2018. Also OnlineISBN: 0253037840Date: 2019-01-01
From Internationalism to Postcolonialism by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780228001096Date: 2020-03-19
Lives of Sogdians in Medieval China by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9783447113809Date: 2020-04-01
Neoliberalism and Post-Soviet Transition by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9783319692203Date: 2018-01-03
The Rise and Fall of Khoqand, 1709-1876 by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 0822965062Date: 2017-11-30
Social Capital Construction and Governance in Central Asia by Call Number: YRL ; HM708 .S65169 2017. Also OnlineISBN: 9781137522320Date: 2017-03-28
The East Turkestan Independence Movement, 1930s To 1940s by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9629967693Date: 2019-02-26
Non-Han Literature along the Silk Road by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9789811396434Date: 2020-04-04
Socio-Economic Development in Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9789811515354Date: 2020-01-02
National Libraries and Bibliographies
- National Academic Library of the Republic of KazakhstanThe Library includes a digital library of literature.
How to Find Central Asian Materials Using Subject Headings
A subject heading is a specific word or phrase used to find and organize books and articles by topic. Subject headings can be a great way to easily find things related directly to your topic. When library materials are cataloged, they are usually given subject headings to make them more easily searchable by people interested in those subjects.
To see a list of all subject headings currently being used for Polish materials in the library catalog, you can choose Subject List from the drop-down menu of search criteria and type "Central Asia" or related terms. This will give you a list of all subjects using these terms, and you can view the books or items associated with those subjects.
Here are a few examples of subject headings:
Collective memory--Kazakhstan
Kazakhstan--Social conditions--20th century
Asia, Central--History--20th century
Asia, Central--Politics and government--20th century
Soviet Union--History