eBook Highlights
Beyond Sustainable by
Beyond Sustainable discusses the relationship between human-beings and the constructed environments of habitation we create living in the Anthropocene, an increasingly volatile and unpredictable landscape of certain change. This volume accepts that human-beings have reached a moment beyond climatological and ecological crisis. It asks not how we resolve the crisis but, rather, how we can cope with, or adapt to, the irreversible changes in the earth-system by rethinking how we choose to inhabit the world-ecology. Through an examination of numerous historical and contemporary projects of architecture and art, as well as observations in philosophy, ecology, evolutionary biology, genetics, neurobiology and psychology, this book reimagines architecture capable of influencing and impacting who we are, how we live, what we feel and even how we evolve. Beyond Sustainable provides students and academics with a single comprehensive overview of this architectural reconceptualization, which is grounded in an ecologically inclusive and co-productive understanding of architecture.
ISBN: 9780429279058Date: 2020-12-21
Elements of Sustainable Architecture by
For sustainable architecture to become a reality, the way we design buildings needs to change. Many architects are concerned that sustainable technologies may interfere with a building's aesthetic appearance, and so these are often 'added on' once the design process is complete. Elements of Sustainable Architecture solves this dilemma by helping students to develop the design skills they need to create sustainable buildings - ensuring that ecological considerations are applied throughout the design process. Restoring the primacy of aesthetics and creativity to sustainable design, the book focuses on strategies that have the greatest impact on building design. It also shows the influence of sustainability considerations on choices about aspects such as composition, form, space, tectonics, materials, colour, textures, proportion and position. Specifically designed to offer a new way of understanding architecture, the book: introduces students to the basic principles and methods of sustainable design; features current examples and inspiring case studies to support learning step by step; presents information in a visually appealing, intuitive, easy-to-understand way; includes over 500 high-quality colour diagrams, drawings, sketches and photographs. A clear, visual introduction to creating aesthetically beautiful and sustainable buildings, this is essential reading for students in sustainable architecture courses.
ISBN: 1351256424Date: 2019-12-06
Sustainable Housing in a Circular Economy by
This book relates circular economy principles to housing design and construction and highlights how those principles can result in both monetary savings, positive environmental impact, and socio-ecological change. Chapters focus on three key circular economy principles and apply them to architectural construction and design, namely rethinking of the end-of-use phase of a building and the potential of design-for-disassembly; the role of digitization and data standardization in fostering evidence-based circular economy design decision-making; and presenting space as a resource to conserve, via exploration of the sharing economy and flexibility principles. Beyond waste management and material cycles, this book provides a holistic understanding of the opportunities across the building life cycle that can allow for sustainable and affordable circular housing. With case studies from 13 different countries, including but not limited to the Hammarby Sjöstad district in Sweden, the Circle House in Denmark, Benny Farm in Canada, VMD Prefabricated House in Mexico, and the Deep Performance Dwelling in China, authors pair theoretical frameworks with real-world examples. This will be a useful resource for upper-level students and academics of architecture, construction, and planning, especially those studying and researching housing design, building technology, green project management, and environmental design.
ISBN: 1003851258Date: 2024-03-15
Librarian Recommendations
A People's Guide to Los Angeles by ISBN: 9780520270817Date: 2012-04-23A People's Guide to Los Angeles offers an assortment of eye-opening alternatives to L.A.'s usual tourist destinations. It documents 115 little-known sites in the City of Angels where struggles related to race, class, gender, and sexuality have occurred. They introduce us to people and events usually ignored by mainstream media and, in the process, create a fresh history of Los Angeles. Roughly dividing the city into six regions-North Los Angeles, the Eastside and San Gabriel Valley, South Los Angeles, Long Beach and the Harbor, the Westside, and the San Fernando Valley-this illuminating guide shows how power operates in the shaping of places, and how it remains embedded in the landscape.
UC Library Search
Search for books and other resources using the UC Library Search!
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
What if UCLA doesn't have what I'm looking for?
Never pay for an article online! If you are looking for something that you can't find through UCLA Library, you can request it via our FREE Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. Click on the link below to find out how to use ILL.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Instructions for making an interlibrary loan request for materials not located at UCLA.
Encyclopedias & Other Electronic Resources
- Building Green This link opens in a new windowSustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
- The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture (4 ed.)This definitive dictionary of Western architectural history contains over 5,000 entries and includes illustrations and an extensive bibliography.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- Architecture Design & Practice Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 200 ebooks focusing on studio design, technical detail, and professional practice. Part of Bloomsbury Visual Arts.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowCollection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles which include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics: global warming, green building, ecology, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
- Architecture Library — Bloomsbury This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Architecture Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design.