Major Campus Collections
Only a small percentage of film and television content is available through streaming platforms. See below for more information on other campus collections in physical formats.
- Film & Video Collections at UCLAResearch guide to both physical and streaming collections at UCLA.
- Instructional Media Collections and Services (Center for the Advancement of Teaching)UCLA's central resource for the collection and maintenance of instructional media. The collection includes several thousand videotapes, laserdiscs, DVDs, and other media as well as selected department, media lab, and study center collections.
- UCLA Film & Television ArchiveThe UCLA Film & Television Archive holds over 350,000 motion pictures and 170,000 television programs, spanning the entire course of film and broadcasting history. The collection includes independent and studio-produced shorts and feature films, documentaries, local and network TV programming, commercials, news and public affairs broadcasts, LGBTQIA media, and 27 million feet of newsreels produced between 1919 and 1971.
Streaming Databases
UCLA Library subscribes to a number of online databases for streaming media. Below are selected resources available for Latinx and Chicanx media. Please see this guide for more information.
- Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowUCLA subscribes to several dozen distinct databases hosted by Alexander Street Press. This interface allows you to search across most of them. Click on "My Collections" to see the list of subscribed databases.
- Avalon This link opens in a new window
Avalon houses streaming audio and video collections at UCLA. Content is restricted to UCLA users and requires additional UCLA authentication for use both on and off campus via the "Sign in" link.
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowStreaming video access to documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Includes access to the African American Classics collection from California Newsreel.
- Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films This link opens in a new windowVolumes I and II of Ethnographic Video Online. Contains streaming video of documentary footage focused on the study of human culture and behavior. Includes ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, interviews, field notes, and study guides. See also volume III, Indigenous Voices; and, volume IV, Festivals and Archives.
- Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new windowEAI's Educational Streaming Site is a subscription-access layer of the EAI Online Catalogue. Full-length streaming videos are available for selected artists, with an emphasis on video and media art, performance art, and experimental film. Artists and titles are added on an ongoing basis. The campus subscription to Electronic Arts Intermix was initially funded for the campus by the generous support of the UCLA Art Department.
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new windowOnline video collection featuring hundreds of documentaries covering a range of topics. Subjects include race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. UCLA subscribes to volumes I and II.
- Hearst Metrotone News Collection (UCLA Film & Television Archive) This link opens in a new windowNewsreels from the UCLA Film & Television Archive. In cooperation with the UCLA Film & Television Archive, the Packard Humanities Institute is developing this website as part of a joint project to make the Hearst newsreel collection more easily accessible to the public. Includes newsreels shown in theatres from 1929 to 1967.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. More information on Kanopy access and use is available on this guide.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowSelected streaming video titles from Swank Digital Campus, licensed for use by individual researchers and class screenings/reserves by instructor request.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive: Watch & Listen Online This link opens in a new windowA selection of digitized films, television and radio programs preserved by UCLA Film & Television Archive, including the KTLA News Project, In the Life, The Goldbergs on the Radio, U.S. Steel Hour, Insight, L.A. Rebellion, Restored Silent Animation, Hearst Metrotone News, UCLA Student Films, and more.
Selected Films on Kanopy
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view videos.
Selected Films on Avalon
UCLA students, staff, and faculty have access to hosted streaming video and audio through Avalon. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server, and additionally into the Avalon database with UCLA ID and password to view video.
Beyond Central Avenue: Contemporary Female Jazz Instrumentalists of Los Angeles (Cheryl Keyes, 2011).
The Complete Jazz Casual Series (creation date 1961).
"Jazz casual was a legendary television series on jazz and blues created and produced from 1961-1968 by Ralph J. Gleason for the U.S. National Educational Television Network."
Wattstax (Mel Stuart, 2004)