Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
Online Catalog for Finding Books at UCLA and Other Libraries
-
Search UCLA's local library collection as well as the collections from all 10 UC libraries, two regional library facilities and the California Digital Library
-
Locate the full text of millions of print and online books, journal articles, and other content
- Get up-to-the-minute status information on what's checked out, do things like renew your books, recall books checked out to other people or request items stored in the Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF)
Tips
Select the scope most appropriate for what you are looking for:
- Articles, books and more searches all 10 UC campus libraries, the electronic resources subscribed to, as well as electronic resources that may not be in the UC libraries, but that can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- Course Reserves searches material put on reserve by your professor. Search by course number, title or instructor.
- UCLA Library Catalog searches just material in the UCLA Libraries, with the exception of journal articles.
- UC Libraries Catalog searches all 10 UC campus libraries, with the exception of journal articles.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive searches only the holdings of the Film & Television Archive.
- WorldCat Global Catalog searches material in libraries throughout the United States and some foreign countries.
. You can request materials from anywhere in the world using the Interlibrary Loan service — you don't even have to specify where it's coming from — but it may take weeks or months to get here, and extremely rare materials may not be available for loan.
Encyclopedias
Unless otherwise stated, these selected general anthropology encyclopedias are available in print only. Click on the title to get to the catalog record. To find more encyclopedias, search for "anthropology encyclopedia?" as keyword in the UCLA Library catalog.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Call Number: GN11 .E63 2006
History of Physical Anthropology by Call Number: GN50.3 .H57 19972 vols.
Location: College Library Reference Wall Collection
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution by Call Number: GN281 .C178 1992; GN281 .C345 1992Locations: Biomed Reference Core; College Library Reference Wall Collection; YRL Reference Reading Room
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures by Call Number: GN307 .E56 2004Location: Biomed LibraryEncyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory by
Call Number: GN281 .E53 1988; Available online.Locations: College Library Reference Wall Collection; YRL Reference Desk
To find more linguistics encyclopedias, search for "linguistics encyclopedia?" or "languages encyclopedia?" as keyword in the UCLA Library catalog.
Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics by 14 vols.
Also available in print: YRL Reference Reading Room.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Call Number: P29 .I58 20034 vols.
Location: YRL Reference Reading Room
To find more socio-cultural anthropology encyclopedias, search for "ethnology encyclopedia?," "culture encyclopedia?," or "ethnography encyclopedia?" as keyword in the UCLA Library catalog.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (2nd ed.) by Call Number: GN307 .E525 2010Location: YRL Reference Desk
Encyclopedia of World Cultures by Call Number: GN307 .E53 199110 vols.
Locations: College Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL
Countries and Their Cultures by Call Number: GN307 .C68 20014 vols.
Location: YRL Reference Reading Room
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife by Call Number: GR35 .G816 2006; GR35 .G75 20064 vols.
Locations: Biomed Reference; YRL
Because anthropology is such a highly interdisciplinary discipline, you can find related information in other fields. The following encyclopedias are just some of the subject areas in which you can find anthropological information.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesA scholarly encyclopedia covering disciplines of the social and behavioral sciences: Anthropology, Economics, Geography, Political Science, Psychology, Social Welfare, Sociology, and related fields and concepts.
Fieldwork Resources
Unless otherwise stated, these selected resources on doing fieldwork are available in print only. Click on the title to get to the catalog record. To find more handbooks, search for "anthropology fieldwork" or "archaeology fieldwork" as keyword in the UCLA Library catalog
In the Field by Call Number: GN346 .G54 2018ISBN: 9780520289628Date: 2018This book offers an invaluable look at what cultural anthropologists do when they are in the field. Through fascinating and often entertaining accounts of their lives and work in varied cultural settings, the authors describe the many forms fieldwork can take, the kinds of questions anthropologists ask, and the common problems they encounter. From these accounts and the experiences of the student field workers the authors have mentored over the years, In the Field makes a powerful case for the value of the anthropological approach to knowledge.
Caring for Digital Data in Archaeology by Call Number: CC82.9 .C37 2013ISBN: 9781782972495Date: 2013
Linguistic Fieldwork by Call Number: P128.F53 B69 2015ISBN: 9781137340795Date: 2015Linguistic Fieldwork offers practical guidance on areas such as applying for funding, the first session on a new language, writing up the data and returning materials to communities. This expanded second edition provides new content on the results of research, on prosody elicitation, on field experiment design, and on working in complex syntax.
Dictionaries
Unless otherwise stated, these selected anthropological and archaeological dictionaries are available in print only. Click on the title to get to the catalog record. To find more topical dictionaries, search for "anthropology dictionaries," "archaeology dictionaries," or "ethnology dictionaries" as subject list in the UCLA Library catalog.
Handbooks
Unless otherwise stated, these selected anthropological and archaeological handbooks are available in print only. Click on the title to get to the catalog record. To find more handbooks, search for "anthropology handbook?" or "archaeology handbook?" as keyword in the UCLA Library catalog