Skip to Main Content

Contemporary Music Score Collection Guide

How to use and search the Contemporary Music Score Collection

Collection Highlights

We periodically update the following Collection Highlights.

Nicholas Tran, Basil and Bean Sprout

“Basil and Bean Sprout is written to closely mirror the migration of phơ from its origins to the United States.”

More information


Yan Pang, The Others 

“This work moves through a varying spectrum of Chinese and American values including choreography of internal reflection and contemplation enacted through movement to portray external societal dissonance. The dance piece seeks to convey a process of racialization and translation in my birth country, my journey to the U.S., and my new home country.”

More information


Marc Chan, “Playing Schumann”

"Marc holds a doctorate in composition from the Manhattan School of Music and is a member of the New Dramatists Composer-Librettist Workshop and the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theater Advanced Workshop."

More information


Xavier Shuang Xu, “Phase Transition”

“An experiment on the order of pitches, dynamics, and timbres.”

 

More information


Byron Au Yong,  Mo Sheng 墨声 Ink Sound

“Mò Shēng 墨声 Ink Sound relates the simplicity and density of sound to the amount of ink on a brush. The string quartet plays with a calligraphic impulse, inspired by Pan Gongkai’s Exhibition.”

 

More information


Shuying Li , “The Dryad”

“The Dyad was inspired by Hans Christian Andersen’s same-titled fairy tale. It depicts a chestnut tree’s  migration  from  the  countryside  to  the  modern  city,  and  focuses  on  the  ideas  of  nostalgia, desire, modernity, old and new homes, and contrast and struggles related. Schubert’s song “Der Lindenbaum” is featured throughout the piece as a representation of nostalgia and old memories that the dryad has when being migrated to a new place with totally new experiences.”

The Dryad Recording

More information


Matthew Vest

Profile Photo
Matthew Vest
Subjects: Music & Dance

Introduction

This guide is intended to accompany UCLA's Contemporary Music Score Collection on eScholarship. Find more information on the Collection Page on the Library website. 

Published by the UCLA Music Library in eScholarship, the Contemporary Music Score Collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.

You may suggest additions to this guide by contacting the guide owners.

This guide was created by Rachel Boehl in fall 2020. 

How to Search the Collection

  1. On the top left corner of the main page of the collection, click on the search bar, and type in your search criteria
  2. Before clicking the search button, select the option to search only in “This Series” 

  • Should other search results get through the “This Series” filter, select the “Department” tab on the right side of the search results page and select “UCLA Music Library”

 

More Search Tips

  • Selecting a composer's name from any search result will bring you to all entries they are associated with on eScholarship, including publications not related to the Contemporary Score Edition. 

  • Searching for an instrument name, such as “Viola,” will bring back any result that contains the word “Viola” in any part of the score, not exclusively the title.
    • This search brings back 2,431 results, including solos for viola, chamber works, as well as pieces for viola de gamba and orchestra. 

  • Searching by ensemble type may include results that also contain additional instruments.
    • e.g. 10 of the 23 results for "Pierrot Ensemble" include an additional solo voice
  • Searching for any ensemble term, such as "Orchestra," will bring back any result that uses the word "orchestra" in any part of the score, not only the title.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • How can I find works for solo instrument?
    • The best way to search for solo works is to use the instrument name or voice type. This search will return more than exclusively solo works, however results with your search term in the title will be higher on the list.
  • How can I find works for a specific ensemble?
    • At this time, the only way to search for an ensemble is to search the ensemble name.
  • Do some ensemble searches work better than others?
    • Yes, ensembles that have more works in the collection will bring back more successful pages of results, whereas less popular ensemble searches may contain search results that are not relevant to your needs.
      • For example, the search for "Pierrot Ensemble" brings back 23 scores, and includes one score for a flute trio, because the composer references Pierrot ensembles in their introduction.

Acknowledgements

It has taken an incredible team of talented people to make the Contemporary Music Score Collection a reality. We want to thank the entire 2020 team:

Sahfa Aboudkhil, Tinuola Awopetu, Ben Alkaly, Allison Benedetti, Ariane Bicho, Chris Brennan, Marty Brennan, Rachel Boehl, Martha Cabot, Jennifer Chan, Judy Consales, Ashleigh Darby, Emily Dearborn, Chantel Diaz, Sarah El Massry, Bob Freel, Justin Gonder, Leo Gonzalez, Callie Holmes, Sebastian Jones, Lisa Kahn, Diana King, Alan Lee, Rachel Lee, Chris Lopez, Henry Lim, Lisa Moske, Michael Nguyen, Sylvia Page, Alexander Papandrea, Ashley Peterson, Kathy Ramirez, Alicia Reiley, Betty Reyes, Bridget Risemberg, Allison Scott, Alexandra Solodkaya, Art Torres, Matthew Vest, Daniel Williford, and Sarah Yocute.