Find Research Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that indexes and abstracts over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas from the 1970s to the present. Provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are central to women's lives. Includes gender studies; gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender studies; family studies; government; history; politics; humanities; social sciences. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 GLBT-specific core periodicals. Includes over 50,000 records relevant to all areas of GLBT studies selected from Sexual Diversity Studies database. - MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowPresents up-to-date health care information, selected by the US National Library of Medicine, for use by health care consumers and health professionals.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the sciences; social sciences; and arts & humanities. Indexes major journals across disciplines with all cited references captured. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
Find Newspaper & Magazine Articles
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. Previously titled American Indian Newspapers. - AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AP Newsroom (formerly AP Images) contains millions of photographs dating from 1826 to present day from the Associated Press. Includes thousands of graphics, audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 40 national (US) and international newspapers; 389 regional US newspapers; and full text television and radio transcripts. - ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.
- News: Library Research GuideA comprehensive guide to finding newspaper articles via UCLA Library subscriptions.
UC Library Search
Libraries on all 10 University of California campuses are now connected through UC Library Search, a unified discovery and borrowing system. Watch this video to learn more about this new discovery tool!