Last Updated: Aug 16, 2013
This guide is intended to give UCLA students, staff and faculty interested in Information Studies resources an easy-to-use jumping off point for accessing UCLA Library materials. You'll find information here on both print and electronic resources, as well as on strategies for conducting research.
This guide will always be a work in progress. If you have any suggestions for what you would like to see included please e-mail me.
- Library and Information Science Abstract (LISA)
Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.
- Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 735 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes and abstracts library and information science periodicals, monographs, selected state library journals, conference proceedings, library school theses and pamphlets. Some full-text available. Topics include automation, CD-ROMs, cataloging, censorship, circulation, classification, copyright, education for librarianship, employment opportunities, library schools, online searching, personnel management, preservation of materials, and publishing trends. The database also cites book reviews
- Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
Librarians, educators, and students have easy access to the knowledge and experience of decades of innovators in librarianship, with retrospective content of Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective. Nearly 80 years of citations document all the innovations, controversies, and people instrumental in the making of modern librarianship.
Index to journal articles from 1969 to the present and ERIC documents since 1966 on educational research and practice. Allows access to the full-text of most ERIC documents from 1996-present.
- American Reference Books Annual
More than 9,500 reviews of reference materials published within the last 7 years. Covers all disciplines.
Chat reference is always open through the UCLA Library’s membership in the national 24/7 Academic Reference Cooperative. This is a cooperative service; you may be chatting with a librarian from another institution.