Last Updated: Nov 17, 2014
The Web contains multitudes of information, with one search yielding thousands of results. It is necessary to evaluate each site in order to know how authoritative it is. Here are some resources for evaluating web resources:
Browse each tab to find book, articles, websites and other resources for your research.
- American Indian Histories and Cultures
Includes manuscripts, newspapers, diaries, maps, artwork, photographs, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers up to the mid-twentieth century.
- American Indian Experience
A full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. An online library featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images from Pre-contact to the present day.
- North American Indian Drama
Full text of plays by American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the 20th century, information about the plays and their production, and biographical data.
- eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
- Ethnic Newswatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
These key databases will give you broad access to journal articles and citations across a number of fields.
- Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals.
- America, history and life
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Limited to six simultaneous users.
Back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
- Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Provides access to a variety of journals from academic presses in the social sciences and humanities.