Skip to main content

Photography: Los Angeles and Southern California

Special Collections at the Young Research Library

Library Special Collections is located on the bottom floor of the Charles E. Young Research Library (map).

Materials found on OAC can be requested through Aeon (registration required). Delivery from offsite storage will take at least 3 days, and requested materials will be held at Special Collections for 7 days after you receive a notification email. You may ask the reading room attendant to hold materials for longer. See their website for additional details on utilizing special collections.

Consult the research guides on Photography in Special Collections and Art in Special Collections for more general assistance.

Note: While using the library catalog, you may find books that are in a particular Special Collection/Archive that is assigned a three letter code, e.g., HEI Robert Heinecken Collection. On the Advanced Search page, you can find all of the materials in these collections by typing in the three letter code and selecting "Special Coll/Archive SPAC" from the dropdown menu.


General Collections

Minimal descriptions of Collections 98 and 99 are available online. Patrons are advised to use the card catalog index and finding aids available at the reference desk in Special Collections, located on level A of the Charles E. Young Research Library.


Newspapers


Exhibition Catalogs


Organizations


Photographers

The Benjamin and Gladys Thomas Air Photo Archives

The Air Photo Archives is located in Bunche Hall, room A145 (map), at the north end of the palm tree courtyard.

Chicano Studies Research Center

The CSRC is located in Haines Hall, room 193 (map).

Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library

Library Special Collections for Medicine and the Sciences is located on the 4th floor of the Biomedical Library (map), which is in the Center for the Health Sciences

Center for Oral History Research

The Center for Oral History Research is also found at Library Special Collections (map).

Their website offers full transcripts and audio recordings for some interviews, and digitized transcripts are available on the Internet Archive. The page on photography features several artists associated with Los Angeles.

Performing Arts

Performing Arts Special Collections are found at Library Special Collections in YRL (map) on the bottom floor.

University Archives