Research Help
Consult the following pages to locate contact information for UCLA's Special Collections and University Archives, or to plan a visit an request to view Special Collections materials.
Archival Research
Search the following databases to locate archival collections:
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowSearches finding aids for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in libraries, museums, and archives around the world. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
Related Research Guides
UCLA Special Collections
The Special Collection Department in the Young Research Library houses several important architectural archives, including the collections of:
- A. Quincy Jones (architect)
- Richard Neutra (architect)
- Lloyd Wright (architect)
- The Max and Rita Lawrence papers (architectural pottery and other items associated with modern Los Angeles architecture)
- The S. Charles Lee drawings and photographs (documents the evolution of motion picture theater buildings)
- Ralph D. Cornell (landscape architect)
- Edward Huntsman-Trout (landsacpe architect)
- Ruth Patricia Shellhorn papers, 1909-2006 (landscape architect)
- Philip E. Chandler (landscape architect)
- Warner L. Marsh Papers, 1927-1965 (landscape architect)
- Records of the American Institute of Landscape Architects Records, ca. 1954-1977
Consult the following links for additional collection information:
- UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.
UCLA University Archives
The UCLA Archives houses records related to the history of the UCLA campus, including records related to campus planning and building projects. Consult the following links for additional collection information:
Other UCLA Special Collections
- The Benjamin and Gladys Thomas Air Photo Archives, 1918-1971 -Oblique photographs of California. Originals are housed in the UCLA Department of Geography.
- UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.
- William Andrews Clark Memorial LibraryLocated in the historic West Adams neighborhood of Los Angeles, UCLA’s Clark Library is a rare book and manuscript library specializing in the study of England and the Continent from the Tudor period through the long eighteenth century. Other subject strengths include Oscar Wilde, book arts and fine press printing, and Montana and the West. The Clark Library is open to anyone who wishes to conduct research with its holdings.
Southern California Special Collections and Archives
Selected sources for images of Southern California architecture, including repositories of architectural archives.
Historical Societies and Museums
Historical societies and local history museums often house historical photographs and other local inforamtion.