Core Architecture and Urban Design Indexes
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window A comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Selective coverage back to 1741.
This link opens in a new window
- Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Online Catalogue This link opens in a new window Details of books and audiovisual materials acquired by the RIBA Library (main professional architecture Library in the UK) and articles in over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals. Includes Architectural Publications Index (API) compiled by the British Architectural Library of the Royal Institute of British Architects.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century. Disciplines include ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metal smithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
- This link opens in a new window
Databases
- Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD)PCAD contains information regarding the buildings and desigeners of California, Oregon, and Washington. Related professionals such as landscape architects, interior designer, developers, and building contractors and their work are also included. Building records contain information about their creators (when possible) and includes historical and geographic information in addition to images when available. All citations included in building records are linked.
- ArchitectureWeek's Great Buildings CollectionThis free, online database contains documents about buildings and architects with photographic images and architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, and web links for notable designers and structures. It is cross-linked with Archiplanet and ArchitectureWeek.
- Dynamic National Archive (The Collection of Women of 20th-century Architecture)The Dynamic National Archive (DNA) is part of an ongoing project to catalog the names, biographies, and work of female architects and designers who have contributed to the development of the places and spaces of the United States. The Collection includes over 1,100 practitioners from all 50 states, and is constantly growing.
- Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes SurveyThe collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes. Begun in 1933 the HABS/HAER/HALS collections now include more than 556,900 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 38,600 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century.
- Philadelphia Architects and Buildings DatabaseThe American Architects and Buildings database contains more than 263,896 projects and buildings, 23,789 architects, engineers and contractors, and over 126,022 images. This database focuses on the work of Penssylvania based architects but also contains a considerable collection of information on California buildings.
- SAH ArchipediaAn authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. Contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 8,500 structures and places. The site is still under beta release and is still undergoing development.
- SkyscraperPage Global Cities & Buildings DatabaseA resource for skyscraper and urbanism enthusiasts, featuring skyscraper diagram illustrations, a world-wide buildings database, and skyscraper-themed discussion forums.
- US Modernist Library
This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary Indexes and Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- This link opens in a new window
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
- This link opens in a new window
Online Historical Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2020. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. Contains the former Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923) from the database Historical Newspapers Online.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
Online Current Newspapers
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search recent articles in the Los Angeles Times. - New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text online of the New York Times. Select "Proquest Newsstand" from the menu for current issues. - Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text world newspapers, mostly post-1980s in coverage. Especially useful for local and state news and reviews, including many California papers.