Classical and Byzantine Studies

UCLA Library Collections

UCLA's classical holdings center on Grecian civilizations from the Minoan-Mycenaean period to the fall of Constantinople in 1453; on Italian civilizations from the so-called regal period to the death of Romulus Augustulus in 476; and on the history of classical scholarship. These materials, chiefly consisting of books and manuscripts, support the research and instructional needs of the Department of Classics and, to a degree, the Departments of Art History, History, and Philosophy, and the Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies.

The materials themselves are mainly preserved in the Arts Library (art, architecture, archaeology); the History and Special Collections Division of the Biomedical Library (medicine and science); the William Andrews Clark Memorial Library (British imprints from the 17th and 18th centuries); the College Library (a.k.a. Powell; undergraduate materials); the Law Library; the Southern Regional Library Facility (older and less used materials); and especially in the Charles E. Young Research Library (Main Stacks; Reference; A-Level Maps and Microforms; Special Collections).

Finding Books

Getting Started

This guide is intended to give UCLA students, staff, and faculty interested in Classical and Byzantine Studies an easy-to-use jumping off point. Most of its content was compiled by Paul Naiditch, Librarian Emeritus for Classics. Updates have been added by Katalin Radics, Librarian for the West European Collections and Classics.

Primary Sources at Special Collections of UCLA

UCLA Department of Special Collections Special Collections has several collections particularly useful for those interested in classical antiquity. In recent years, the Department has had two exhibitions concerned with classical antiquity: "The Development of Classical Scholarship" and "Philodemus and Greek Papyri."


West European Studies Interim Librarian

Off-Campus Access

In order to access library databases and other resources from off campus, please follow the instructions for setting up your BOL Proxy server or VPN provided by Bruin Online.

Primary Sources on CD-ROM


The UNESCO maintains a database of translations. It is searchable by author, title, language, translator, publisher, and date.

Index Translationum