Search Tips
For tips on database searching, see the libguide on Choosing and Using Library Databases, including the tabs on effective search terms and search techniques.
E-journals in Statistics
Google Scholar
If you don't see the UC-eLinks link in your results, click on Settings in the upper right, then Library Links and select University of California, Los Angeles as your institution.
Article Search Tips
This quick introduction to searching for academic journal articles in databases will help you make your searches more efficient and more effective:
Avoiding plagiarism can be more tricky than it seems at first glance. Complete this activity to learn strategies for avoiding plagiarism.
Few of us can recall every detail and argument from academic articles - they’re packed with so much information! It’s best to create reading strategies that help you focus on comprehending the most essential elements of an academic article. Breaking Down Academic Articles is a webcomic tutorial that walks you through the most important aspects of an academic article, to help you prepare for class discussion on the article(s) or take away essential information from the article to support future research.
Note: a transcript for each slide can be located at the bottom of each slide. Click the button to preview transcript of slide for description of art in each panel and the script of tutorial guide.
Looking for an efficient way to get a research overview on a topic? A review article is a great place to start.
A review article provides an analysis of the state of research on a set of related research questions. Review articles often: summarize key research findings, reference must-read articles, describe current areas of agreement as well as controversies and debates, point out gaps in knowledge and unanswered questions, suggest directions for future research.
Check out this quick overview of finding review articles in Web of Science, PubMed, Google Scholar, and more.
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the following methods.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental ScienceDownload a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public AffairsDownload a UCLA VPN
Additional Platforms
For more information:
- UCLA OnLine Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer.
Databases in Statistics
Note that many of these sources only index journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the UC elinks or Get it at UC button to do an automated search to find the full text, search for the journal title in UC Library Search, or request through interlibrary loan.
See entire list of Article Databases - Science and Engineering here.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics.
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for articles in the life sciences. - Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts to over 5000 engineering journals from 1884 to the present, conferences and technical reports in the fields of chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics, communications, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. Coverage is from 1884 to the present; print equivalent is Engineering Index.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than five-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Does not include Draft Standards. - Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles in over 4000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Most citations include abstracts. Full-text is available for many articles. Corresponds to the print publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts. 1969 to present; Inspec Archive 1898-1968. - MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940, providing access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. - NTRL: National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and open access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format.
- Project Euclid This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed titles in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics hosted by Project Euclid.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
