Library Student Research Assistant
Science Libraries Student-led Research Help Service
Contact:
12-077 Center for Health Sciences, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1798
(310) 825-4904
Using Psychology Handbooks
Handbooks are essential sources for background information and topic overviews in psychology research.
These introductory sources can help you choose a research topic and introduce you to relevant areas of research and key questions in the field. They also often contain extensive bibliographies that can help you find influential research and scholarship on your topic.
Recent E-book Handbooks
Handbooks on Psychology Research Methods
Handbooks for Specific Populations
Handbook of Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies with Older Adults by 2008, Via SpringerLink
Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Clients by Call Number: WM 55 H2346 2007
Handbook of LGBT communities, crime, and justice by Call Number: HQ73ISBN: 9781461491880Publication Date: 2014
California School of Professional Psychology Handbook of Multicultural Education, Research, Intervention, and Training by Call Number: WM 34 C153 2002General Stacks
Handbook of Multicultural Competencies in Counseling & Psychology by Call Number: WM 55 H237 2003General Stacks
Handbook of Multicultural Perspectives on Stress and Coping by Call Number: WM 172 H2355 2006Print copyin General Stacks, online via SpringerLink
Handbook of Racial & Ethnic Minority Psychology by Call Number: GN 502 H236 2003Print copy in General Stacks
Psychology of women : a handbook of issues and theories by Call Number: HQ1206 .P747 2017ISBN: 9781440842283Located in Young Research Library.
Have an idea for a book to add to the collection? You can suggest a purchase and add a specific handbook to the "Any additional information" field if it is not found in the UCLA Library Catalog. Thank you!
Handbooks on Child and Adolescent Psychology
Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development by Call Number: BF713ISBN: 9781444390933Publication Date: 2011Via Wiley Online Library.
Clinical Handbook of Assessing and Treating Conduct Problems in Youth by ISBN: 97814419629732010, Via SpringerLink
Handbook of Adolescent Behavior Problems: Evidence-Based Approaches to Prevention and Treatment by Call Number: RJ503ISBN: 97814899749762014, Via SpringerLink
Handbook of Behavioral and Emotional Problems in Girls by Call Number: WS 350.6 H2348 2005ISBN: 97803064867462005, via SpringerLink, also in General Stacks
Blackwell Handbook of Early Childhood Development by Call Number: WS 105 B6305 2006ISBN: 1405120738General Stacks
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science by Call Number: BF721 .H236 2015ISBN: 9781118136850Volume 1. Theory and method / William F. Overton, Peter C. M. Molenaar
Volume 2. Cognitive processes / Lynn S. Liben, Ulrich Müller
Volume 3. Socioemotional processes / Michael E. Lamb
Volume 4. Ecological settings and processes / Marc H. Bornstein, Tama Leventhal.
Handbook of Clinical Child Psychology by Call Number: WS 105 H237 2001ISBN: 0471244066General Stacks
Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development by Call Number: WS 105.5 C7 B632 2002ISBN: 0631218408General Stacks
Handbook of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities by ISBN: 97803873293142007, Via SpringerLink
Handbook of Childhood Psychopathology and Developmental Disabilities Treatment by Call Number: RJ506.D47ISBN: 3319712101Publication Date: 2017Via SpringerLink.
Handbook of Child and Adolescent Anxiety Disorders by Call Number: RJ506.A58ISBN: 97814419778472011, Via SpringerLink
Handbook of Genomics and the Family: Psychosocial Context for Children and Adolescents. by Call Number: QH447ISBN: 97814419580062010, Via SpringerLink
Handbook of Mental Health Services for Children, Adolescents, and Families, by Call Number: RJ501.A2ISBN: 9780306485602Publication Date: 2005
Have an idea for a book to add to the collection? You can suggest a purchase and add a specific handbook to the "Any additional information" field if it is not found in the UCLA Library Catalog. Thank you!
Psychiatry and Psychotherapy
- Psychiatry OnlineIncludes access to the DSM Library and textbooks in psychiatry.
- Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference WorksAs searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narrataives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
The Psychiatric Interview by
Now DSM-5 updated! Using a unique and effective combination of mnemonics, practical techniques, and phrasing examples that illustrate the nuances of the interviewing process, The Psychiatric Interview, 4th Edition helps you establish a rapport with patients and gain valuable clinical insights. Now updated to incorporate the DSM-5 and current research, this popular manual teaches you how to improve your interviewing skills, breaking down this complex area into concise information you can put to use immediately in your practice. Key Features: Offers a practical, concise approach to the psychiatric interview, filled with tips and pearls to develop confidence in interviewing. Uses mnemonics and pocket cards to help you understand and remember key elements of the effective interview. Brings you up to speed with the DSM-5 and current research, including changes in diagnosing dementia, substance abuse, eating disorders, ADHD, and more. Provides clear techniques for approaching threatening topics, and shows how relationships that are endangered can be repaired. Presents information in an engaging, conversational manner, helping you form an alliance with each patient in order to promote cooperation and effective treatment. Ideal for psychiatrists, psychiatric residents, nurse practitioners, or other mental health professionals. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
ISBN: 9781496327710Publication Date: 2016-08-17
Manuals and Coding
- ICD-10 Classification of Mental and Behavioural Disorders: Clinical Descriptions and Diagnostic Guidelinesvia WHO
All Year Reserve, call number: WM 15 I15 1992
Reference Stacks, call number: WM 15 I15 1992
Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Psychology2009, Oxford University Press
Campbell's Psychiatric DictionaryCall Number: WM 13 C189p 2004 (General Stacks)
The Counseling Dictionary: Concise Definitions of Frequently Used TermsCall Number: WM 13 G542c 2001 (Reference Stacks)
Dictionary of Biological PsychologyCall Number: WL 103 D554 2001 (Reference Stacks)
Eponyms in PsychologyCall Number: BF 31 Z87 1987 (Reference Stacks)
Lexicon of Psychiatry, Neurology, and the NeurosciencesCall Number: WM 13 A975L 2000 (Reference Stacks)
The Oxford Companion to the Mind2004, Oxford University Press
The SAGE Glossary of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by 2009, via SAGE Reference Online
A Student's Dictionary of PsychologyCall Number: BF 31 H418s 2003 (General Stacks)
Book Search Tips
A quick introduction to finding books at UCLA and other UC campuses using UC Library Search:
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
This quick tutorial and the accompanying handout (PDF) offer step-by-step instructions for finding and accessing thousands of e-Books.
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the following methods.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental ScienceDownload a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public AffairsDownload a UCLA VPN
Additional Platforms
For more information:
- Bruin OnLine Proxy ServerA browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer.