Political Science 150: Political Violence

This expansive collection of A-Z entries offers a compelling look into hate groups in America. Focusing on organizations in operation today, this book is intended for student and general audience readers, providing an essential resource that crosses into a number of hot-button issues in politics and culture. * Defines what a hate group is and what distinguishes such groups from other groups operating within the social and political landscape of the United States * Provides readers with an understanding of the numerous hate groups that are affecting both the social and political environments in the United States * Encourages readers to conduct further research into these groups by including extensive bibliographic resources as well as suggestions for further research * Provides information on groups that pertains to their origins and current activities and suggests possibilities of their future impacts on the political, social, and economic environments in the United States

This reference is essential reading for anyone attempting to understand modern terrorism by studying the arc of terrorism throughout history...

A valuable, up-to-date reference tool for understanding the latest developments in national and international terrorism-one of the most pressing security challenges facing the world today. * More than 500 entries on topics in modern-day terrorism * A chronology of major terrorist attacks since 1946 * A bibliography listing major literacy sources on terrorism * A list of acronyms related to major terrorist organizations

This is a 3-volume book. First Published in 2015. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an Informa company.

One of the defining features of the post-9/11 world is the extent to which terrorism has become a key organising principle for domestic and international politics. Introduced by an essay exploring the complex nature of terrorism and with more than 250 entries, each containing suggestions for further reading, the Dictionary of Terrorism provides an overview of the key themes, individuals, organizations and tactics that have shaped terrorism throughout history and into the contemporary world. It covers: Events such as the 9/11 attacks and the 7/7 London bombings Terrorist organizations from the Assassins of the first century to the modern Zapatista Army of National Liberation Biographies of individual terrorists ranging from Abu Ayyub al-Masri to Abu Zubaydah with extensive coverage given to key figures such as Osama bin Laden Terrorist tactics such as bombings, hijacking and hostage taking Key international counter-terrorism conventions The Dictionary of Terrorism is an easily accessible resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, researchers, policy-makers and anyone seeking to understand the nature of political, ethnic and religious violence in the world today.

The ongoing conflicts in the Middle East and the bombings overseas have shown that - despite the ""War on Terror"" - terrorism is still very much a part of daily life for many individuals. Thoroughly updated and expanded by terrorism experts, ""Encyclopedia of Terrorism, Revised Edition"" provides students, researchers, journalists, and policymakers with a complete survey of what seems to be an intractable problem. More than 350 entries organized in an easily accessible, A-to-Z format offer comprehensive treatments of the events, people, organizations, and places that have played a major role in international terrorism. Each entry is placed within its appropriate historical context to help readers understand the wide-ranging motivations behind terrorist actions. Also included in this timely volume is a chronology of terrorist events that have occurred from 1945 to the present. New and updated entries include: Army of God; Osama bin Laden; Cyberterrorism; Darfur; Hamas; Saddam Hussein; Militias in the United States; The 9/11 Commission Report; Oklahoma City bombing; Al-Qaeda; USA Patriot Act; and Abu Musab al-Zarqawi.

This work examines terrorist activity worldwide from the mid-1990s to the 21st century. It covers the attack on the World Trade Center, the "War on Terrorism", and the escalating violence in Israel and Palestine, offering historical context by terrorism and counter-terrorism experts. It investigates key issues and events related to global and domestic terrorism, as well as future trends in terrorism and counter-terrorism. The work includes entries on terrorist individuals, organizations, and activities around the globe, and also features a complete volume of primary source documents relating to terrorism from ancient times to the 21st century.