Librarian
Note on Coverage
This page is a working list of special collections materials at UCLA related to the L.A. Rebellion. Finding aids will be added as they become available for accessibility of relevant collections.
- For UCLA Film & Television Archive materials, please see the "Film and Video" and "Oral Histories" tabs on this guide.
- Please contact Library Special Collections directly for assistance with access and collections housed there.
L.A. Rebellion Materials
- L.A. Rebellion collectionAs part of an effort to desegregate the UCLA School of Theater, Film, and Television in the late 1960s, a group of African and African-American students enrolled as part of an Ethno-Communications program. Here, these students gained access to the equipment and instruction needed in order to tell their stories. For approximately two decades, these students created a new type of cinema that would later be known as the LA Rebellion. These filmmakers represent an early effort to create a new and alternative practice of Black Cinema in the United States.
Processed materials consist of the papers of LA Rebellion filmmakers Larry Clark and Julie Dash. - African American Studies in Library Special CollectionsFinding aids and other information about collections related to African American history, arts, and more in UCLA Library Special Collections.
- Los Angeles History and Culture in Library Special CollectionsFinding aids and other information about collections related to Los Angeles history in UCLA Library Special Collections.
- "Larry Clark's Passing Through (1977): An International Sensation"UCLA Library Special Collections blog post by Maggie Tarmey, Scholar in the Center for Primary Research and Training in Library Special Collections (September 2022).
Additional Resources
- UCLA Library Special CollectionsWebpage for Library Special Collections, with links to information on access and collections.
- UCLA Library Special Collections FAQFrequently asked questions about how to access and use Library Special Collections materials.
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowFinding aids for primary source collections in all UC campuses and other contributing institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowSearches finding aids for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in libraries, museums, and archives around the world. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
- Calisphere This link opens in a new windowOver one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
