Selected Journals
Browse the most recent issues if you are looking for a topic or want to see the direction of recent scholarship in the field. Most are available online through the UCLA Library Catalog: Journal Title.
- American Indian Culture and Research Journal In print since 1971, the American Indian Culture and Research Journal (AICRJ) is an internationally renowned multidisciplinary journal designed for scholars and researchers. The premier journal in Native American and Indigenous studies, it publishes original scholarly papers and book reviews on a wide range of issues in fields ranging from history to anthropology to cultural studies to education and more. It is published three times per year by the UCLA American Indian Studies Center.
Selected Article Databases
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowA full-text digital collection exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Contains more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images from pre-contact to the present day.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowDigitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. Previously titled American Indian Newspapers.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Includes backfiles and current issues of American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, NAPA Bulletin, and PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review, plus a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
- Bibliografia Mesoamericana This link opens in a new windowSearchable bibliography for Mesoamerican studies, across a range of disciplines. Provides access to the scholarly literature on ancient Mesoamerica from 1960 to the present.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowIndexes books, essays, journal articles, US and Canadian government documents, and other publications concerning the history, life, and culture of native North Americans from the 16th century to the present. Contains the citations from the eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations.
- Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 This link opens in a new windowCollection of 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery with a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society.
- ClasePeriódica This link opens in a new window
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. More than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. Journals covered published in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.