Impact Metrics and Scholarly Attribution

The Cited Reference Search in Web of Science searches the citation references of scholarly articles in over 10,000 of the highest impact, well-regarded journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. Web of Science contains authoritative, scholarly multidisciplinary content in the Sciences (1900+), Social/ Behavioral Science (1900+), and Arts & Humanities (1956+).

Cited Reference Search can be used to:

• Tally the citation count for an article, paper, book or even work of art.
• Find variant forms of a citation that might not be retrieved in a regular database search.
• List the journal articles that cite the item.
• Eliminate self-citations
• Create a Citation Map

Cited Reference Search is a forward search, which finds articles that cite the article being searched. Thus, results will consist of articles with later publication dates.

How to Perform a Cited Reference Search:

Web of Science search defaults to "Documents". Click on "Cited References" instead.

2. Enter information about the article(s) you wish to citation track. Note: the Cited Reference Search will also walk you through step-by-step the information necessary to perform your search. The example below shows a search performed using "Cited Author" (in this case, Raphael, M*) and "Cited Title" ("Antarctica and the Southern Ocean"). 

3. The search fields can be filled out with different information, like Cited Author, Volume, Title, etc., but these fields can be changed to suit your needs. Keep in mind when inputting the author’s information to:

• Be especially careful with author names.
• Use only the first initial with an asterisk to include citations with either the initial or full first name.
• List alternative spellings of last names separated by an "OR".

4. You can also search by the Index for a Cited Author and a Cited Work to find the information that you are looking for.

5. Remember: try to keep the information broad enough to include possible name variants and citing errors.

6. If you scroll down to “More Settings”, then you can adjust to see which databases and indexes that you want to search.

Cited Reference Search Results:

As shown in the example below, you'll see a list of articles satisfying the parameters of your search. 

If you would like to view all the articles citing this article, check the box next to all the records that interest you. Then, click "See Results". 

You'll be taken to a list of records that cite this paper. You can click on them and view them individually. 

Cited Article Full Record:

You can also view the citation metrics for a record in one concise pane in the record itself. Click into the article you're interested in. In this case, you can go back to the "Results" page and select the article you'd like to review. 

In the record's page, you'll see a box on the left that says “Citation Network”. 

Citations refers to more recently published articles that cite the article you're reviewing. 

Times Cited in All Databases also refers to more recently published articles that cite the article you're reviewing. The difference between this and Citations is that this count includes databases to which UCLA may not have a subscription.

Cited References are the articles cited in the original paper, or the bibliography. 

Clicking on any of these will take you to a page where you can browse these articles and access them through the "Get it at UC" button. 

Thus, by following both citing articles and cited references, it's possible to go backwards and forwards tracking citations from paper to paper through time. 

Setting up a Citation Alert allows you to be automatically notified whenever a specified article in Web of Science is newly cited. From an article's record, within the Citation Network, just click on "Create Citation Alert".