Databases (Fall)
Articles are indexed in databases. The databases below are a select list of resources that the UCLA Library subscribes to. If you want to look for others, go to Databases by Subject and click through. There are also Research Guides designed by subject librarians at for various disciplines.
is your link to full-text! As you navigate various databases, use the "Get it at UC" button to find the full text across various databases or search for the journal title in UC Library Search.
General Interdisciplinary Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
Subject Databases
-
Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new windowMaterial on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Sources include books, journal and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, and music recordings.
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection.
-
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage of the life sciences, including scientific journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection.
-
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new windowNBER promotes a greater understanding of how the economy works with complete text of papers since Nov. 1994. Basic bibliographic information for all NBER Working Papers published since 1973 and abstracts for all papers issued since September 1993. Private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
-
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search platform for over 140 databases, from the AFI Catalog to Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Includes scholarly articles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, as well as newspapers and dissertations.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
-
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN comtrade) This link opens in a new window
Annual international trade statistics, provided by over 130 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country to the United Nations. All values are converted in US dollars and metric units, with coverage from 1962.
-
World Trade Organization iLibrary (WTO) This link opens in a new windowSelf-contained area all the WTO's key research material on global trade. It has been developed in cooperation with the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. (OECD)
GMO Paper Example Searches
Genetically Modified
"genetically modified" OR "genetic modification" OR transgene OR transgenic OR GMO OR GM
Food, Agriculture, Corn
food OR crop OR farm* OR agricultur* OR corn OR maize
Famine, Food Security
famine OR hunger OR "food security" OR "food insecurity" OR "food aid" OR "food production" OR "food supply"
Food Sovereignty
"food sovereignty" OR "right to food"
Geography
Africa* OR "Southern Africa" OR Zambia OR Lesotho OR Malawi OR Swaziland OR Mozambique OR Zimbabwe
Overviews
"literature review" OR meta-analysis OR "meta analysis" OR "systematic review" OR meta-synthesis OR "meta synthesis" OR "case study" OR "case studies" OR "risk analysis" OR "risk assessment" OR "pros and cons" OR comparison OR comparative
Advantages
benefit OR advantage OR "positive effect" OR "positive impact" OR importance OR success OR value OR improv* OR effectiv*
Disadvantages
cost OR disadvantage OR "negative effect" OR "negative impact" OR failure OR ineffectiv* OR harm OR adverse OR risk
Policies
policy OR policies OR law OR legislat*
Economics
econom* OR financ* OR socioeconom*
Other useful search terms and phrases
- ethic*
- "precautionary principle"
- risk analysis" OR "risk assessment" OR "impact analysis"
-
"substantial equivalence"
This quick introduction to searching for academic journal articles in databases will help you make your searches more efficient and more effective:
Avoiding plagiarism can be more tricky than it seems at first glance. Complete this activity to learn strategies for avoiding plagiarism.
Few of us can recall every detail and argument from academic articles - they’re packed with so much information! It’s best to create reading strategies that help you focus on comprehending the most essential elements of an academic article. Breaking Down Academic Articles is a webcomic tutorial that walks you through the most important aspects of an academic article, to help you prepare for class discussion on the article(s) or take away essential information from the article to support future research.
Note: a transcript for each slide can be located at the bottom of each slide. Click the button to preview transcript of slide for description of art in each panel and the script of tutorial guide.
Looking for an efficient way to get a research overview on a topic? A review article is a great place to start.
A review article provides an analysis of the state of research on a set of related research questions. Review articles often: summarize key research findings, reference must-read articles, describe current areas of agreement as well as controversies and debates, point out gaps in knowledge and unanswered questions, suggest directions for future research.
Check out this quick overview of finding review articles in Web of Science, PubMed, Google Scholar, and more.
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the following methods.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental ScienceDownload a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public AffairsDownload a UCLA VPN
Additional Platforms
For more information:
-
UCLA OnLine Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
-
Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer.