Quick Facts
UCLA Library drives initiatives to digitize, preserve, and provide public access to primary resources worldwide in over 26 languages. The Library has 28 partners in 22 countries and 4 national library partners. (as of 2023)
Collections by Language
Visualization of Collections by Language¹
(1) Data Source Based on a 2015 snapshot of resources in the UCLA Library Catalog Created using Tableau Public Developed by Claudia Horning, with assistance from John Riemer, Zoe Borovsky, and Setareh Saleh More about Languages in the Collections UCLA Library Collections by Language - An interactive guide with tabular data about UCLA Library Collections by language.
International Digital Ephemera Project
At present, in this website we present collections with content from Armenia, Cuba, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, and South Africa ranging from fragile early 20th century newspapers to posters, postcards, cellphone videos, and much more.
International Digital Ephemera Project (as of June 2024)
| 61 Collections | 184 Genres |
Modern Endangered Archives Program
The inaugural year granting program led by UCLA Library and funded by the Arcadia Fund will preserve and make accessible at-risk cultural heritage
Modern Endangered Archives Program (as of December 2023)
|
Items Published 60,000+ |
Projects Total 113 |
Projects Funding in Countries Total 54 |
Project / Digitization Grants 66 |
Planning / Inventory in Countries Total 54 |
UCLA Library builds and stewards collections that support our communities' teaching, learning, and research needs. Our collections are reviewed continuously for accuracy, currency, usage, diversity, and subject area gaps. The Library's participation in the international interlibrary loan community, the California Digital Library (CDL), the Center for Research Libraries, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, and other library organizations provides access to materials beyond UCLA. UCLA Library ensures effective access to resources across a breadth of subjects and formats to support the needs of UCLA's diverse constituencies.
Unless otherwise noted, data is from the 2022/23 survey submitted to the Association of Research Libraries (ARL).
|
Titles held June 30 8,401,622 ¹ Volumes held June 30 22,710,637
|
E-Books (included in Volumes) 3,202,725 |
Languages 400+ |
Digital Collections³ 280 Items 3,341,960 |
|
|
Motion Pictures² 350,000+ Video Hours 597,084+ Audio Files 166,928+ |
Television Programs² 170,000+ |
Newsreel Footage² 27 million feet spanning 1919 - 1961 |
|
(1) The title count now includes all formats; however, it omits HathiTrust, Internet Archive, Center for Research Libraries, and Digital Library Program. As of FY 23, CDL reports statistics using information from UC's unified library platform, Alma.
(2) Alma
(3) Digital Library Program
UCLA eScholarship Open Access Publishing1
| 83,611 Items | 34,052,171 Views | 28 Journals |
Examples of Open Access Publishing include:
- Contemporary Music Score Collection (5353 Items)
- Picturing UCLA: The Visual History of UCLA (10,000+ Images)
¹ data pulled from https://escholarship.org/uc/ucla in May 2024
The following links are to reports which provide general building-specific information, including building name, address, campus location, area, number of levels, classification code, departmental space allocations within the building, and other data. Use the term in the parentheses to find the building for which square footage is reported. Where recorded, square footage for libraries is recorded as a single number under the phrase "GENERAL LIBRARY." Not all Libraries are documented in this tool (e.g., East Asian Library, American Indian Studies Center Library)
After clicking on one of the following links, select the 'stats' bar for details
Charles E. Young Research Library
Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF)
Click on one of the following links and then run a report selecting the building the space is in.
- American Indian Studies Center Library (CAMPBELL) The square footage of libraries housed inside study, research centers, and labs is not recorded.
- Arts Library (Public Affairs Building)
- Asian American Studies Center Library/Reading Room (CAMPBELL) The square footage of libraries housed inside study, research centers, and labs is not recorded.
- Biomedical Library (Louise M. Darling) (Center for Health Sciences) (HEALTH SCI)
- Chicano Studies Research Center Library (HAINES HALL) The square footage of libraries housed inside study, research centers, and labs is not recorded.
- Data Science Center (YOUNG LIBRY) The square footage of libraries housed inside other libraries is included in the measurement of the larger library and not broken out separately.
- East Asian Library (Richard C. Rudolph) (Charles E. Young Research Library) (YRL) The square footage of libraries housed inside other libraries is included in the measurement of the larger library and not broken out separately.
- English Reading Room (KAPLAN HALL)
- Ethnomusicology Archive (SCHOENBERG) Because it is part of the Department of Ethnomusicology, the archive square footage is not recorded.
- Film & Television Archive - Research and Study Center (Powell LIB) The square footage of libraries housed inside other libraries is included in the measurement of the larger library and not broken out separately.
- Gonda Family Library (UCLA LAB 1) The square footage of libraries housed inside study, research centers, and labs is not recorded.
- Informations Studies Lab (SEIS) The square footage of libraries housed inside study, research centers, and labs is not recorded.
- Law Library (Hugh & Hazel Darling) (LAW)
- Library Special Collections (YOUNG LBRY) The square footage of libraries housed inside other libraries is included in the measurement of the larger library and not broken out separately.
- Music Library (Shoenberg Music Building) (SCHOENBERG)
- Ralph J. Bunche Center for African American Studies Library and Media Center (BUNCHE HALL) The square footage of libraries housed inside study, research centers, and labs is not recorded.
- Science and Engineering Library (BOELTER HALL)
Unless otherwise noted, data is from the 2022/23 survey submitted to the Association of Research Libraries (ARL).
|
Number of Doctor's Degrees awarded in FY21-22 1,404 |
Number of fields in which Doctor's Degrees can be awarded 83 |
Number of full-time instructional faculty in FY21-22 2,131 |
Full-time students, undergraduate and graduate 45,755 |
|
Full-time graduate students 13,992 |
Part-time graduate students 1,417 |
The following data source is from the Chancellor's Office of Data Analytics (CODA) Enrollment Data.
See also Campus Statistics
Unless otherwise noted, data is from the 2022/23 survey submitted to the Association of Research Libraries (ARL).
|
Number of Staff Total, FTE 416 |
Professional staff, FTE 172 |
Support staff, FTE 157 |
Student assistants, FTE 87 |
UCLA Library Organizational Chart ¹
|
||
|
Total Library Expenditures $58,521,624 |
Total Collections Expenditures $17,048,335 |
Total Salaries and Wages $32,968,514 |
Total Professional Staff $19,499,500 |
Total Support Staff $10,529,903 |
Student assistants $2,939,111 |
|
Spending per Student² $1,254 |
Spending per Faculty² $14,518 |
Spending per School² $3,657,601 |
¹ data is from UCLA Library
² spending per student 58,521,624/46,676. spending per faculty 58,521,624/4,031. spending per school 58,521,624/16