Background / General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business.
- CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Single-themed reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the US economy. Each report is footnoted and fact-checked and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Not getting results? You may consider looking at the library's Databases by Subject to find research in other fields such as education, psychology, life/health sciences, etc.
Business Databases at the Rosenfeld Library
See the full listing of business databases categorized under Market Research. Select databases are available below:
- eMarketer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search and browse more than 27,000 records and 300,000 datapoints about the Internet and e-business. Also, Interactive Charts tool to see the latest data for over 30 different core metrics. Browseable categories include: Broadband, Wireless & Telecom, Consumers & B2C E-Commerce , Demographics & Usage, E-Business & IT, Government & Trade, Industries, Marketing & Advertising and Media & Entertainment.
- First Search Industry ReportsGood for industry overviews and background information on your organization.
- IBISWorld Industry Research Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Industry market research and risk ratings. UCLA subscription includes the US Industry Reports (NAICS); US Business Environment Profiles; US Industry iExpert Summaries; and US Specialized Industry Reports.
Newly Added Content (May 2023): US Business Environment State Profiles; US Industry State Reports; US Spotlight Industry Reports; US State Economic Profiles.
Internet Sources
Professional Associations:
Type the name of the industry + “associations” into Google to find professional associations.
Public Companies:
Go to the “Investor Relations” part of their website to find presentations, press releases, and other helpful information.
Articles within Periodicals
To find and search for the periodicals listed on your assignment (e.g., The Atlantic, Harper's Magazine, and Wired) use the library catalog to search for the title, then identify the database(s) that indexes the articles. This allows you to search for keywords within the New York Times, for instance, rather than browse through the daily paper.
UCLA Wireless
Use eduroam or UCLA-WIFI to access articles (not UCLA-WEB). Login is the same as your UCLA login. Make sure to add @ucla.edu to your username when logging into eduroam. For off-campus access, see "Quick Links" in the "Home" tab.