Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Find Basic Info and Bibliographies
- Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film (2006)Copies in both Arts Library and SRLF. Contains individual entries and bibliographies for filmmakers, films, and general themes.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Cinema and Media Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
- "Documentary" entry: Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
- This link opens in a new window
Includes short history and bibliography of major readings.
Get Started with Articles: Major Databases
These online databases are good places to start searching for articles on film studies. For quick reference, hold your mouse over a link for a brief description of the resource. All of these are subscription resources from the Library, so you will need to make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access if you are researching from home.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes major journals across many disciplines. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of major academic journals from a range of disciplines. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies