Keywords
Try these keywords when searching for information about your topic.
- Crisis management
- Disaster preparedness
- Disaster relief
- Disaster victims
- Climatic changes
- Global warming
- Natural disasters -- social aspects
- Natural disaster
- Natural disaster warning systems
- Weather forecasting
- Natural disasters -- social aspects
- Natural disasters -- economics aspects
Background Resources
-
Encyclopedia of Disasters
by
Date: 2007Contains background information on infamous natural disasters throughout history dating from 7,000 BC to 2007 AD. Each entry includes a bibliography. -
Climate Change
by
Date: [2013]Offers coverage of the history, politics, and ethical debates related to climate change. -
Environmental Encyclopedia
Date: 2011A comprehensive encyclopedia of environmental terms, concepts, issues, and biographies. -
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather
by
Date: 1996Many detailed entries are provided in this set. Of special note are the lists of other references sources provided at the end of each entry.
-
CQ ResearcherSingle-themed reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the US economy. Each report is footnoted and fact-checked and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Earthquakes
-
Earthquakes — FEMAWhat to do before, during, and after an earthquake. Earthquake terms, facts, references, and related topics.
-
Seismic Rehabilitation Cost Estimator — FEMA(SRCE) is an online program that enables calculating cost estimates for seismic rehabilitation of buildings.
-
Advanced National Seismic System (ANSS) — USGSProvides accurate and timely data and information products for seismic events, and their effects on buildings and structures, employing modern monitoring methods and technologies. ANSS delivers real-time information, providing situational awareness for emergency-response personnel. In regions with sufficient seismic stations, that information includes—within minutes—a ShakeMap showing the distribution of potentially damaging ground shaking, information used to target lost-earthquake response.
-
Natural Hazards Center — Earthquakes Resource ListExtensive list of recommended earthquake websites with detailed summaries of their content and focus.
-
Government Accountability Office Reports on Past DisastersFind GAO reports and testimonies that help Congress and the administration make informed decisions on strategies for responding to new or future disasters.
Fire
-
Fire Science Management | APU / AMU Program PortalA guide to online fire science management research, for APUS faculty and students.
-
Natural Hazards Center — Wildfire Resource ListExtensive list of recommended wildfire websites with detailed summaries of their content and focus.
Flood
-
Natural Hazards Center — Flood Resource ListExtensive list of recommended Flood research websites with detailed summaries of their content and focus.
Public Health
-
Pandemic Flu — EDEN (Extension Disaster Education Network)Information on the seasonal, pandemic, and 2009 H1N1 influenza, good health habits, community planning and preparation, and the potential impact of the second wave of 2009 H1N1.
-
Natural Hazards Center — Public Health, Mental Health, and Emergency Medicine Resource ListExtensive list of recommended research websites with detailed summaries of their content and focus.
Technology Disasters and Accidents
-
National Transportation Safety BoardUS agency responsible for prevention, investigation, and recovery of transportation disasters.
-
FEMA IT Disaster Recovery PlanBusinesses large and small create and manage large volumes of electronic information or data. Much of that data is important. Some data is vital to the survival and continued operation of the business. The impact of data loss or corruption from hardware failure, human error, hacking or malware could be significant. A plan for data backup and restoration of electronic information is essential.
Tsunamis
-
Tsunami — FEMAWhat to do before, during, and after a tsunami. Tsunami terms, facts, references, and related topics.
-
Tsunami — EDEN (Extension Disaster Education Network)Frequently asked questions, tsunami preparation, warning and mitigation, references, resources, agencies, and organizations, December 2004 Indian Ocean Tsunami, before/after satellite photos of Sri Lanka and Indonesia.
-
Natural Hazards Center — Tsunamis Resource ListExtensive list of recommended tsunami websites with detailed summaries of their content and focus.
Weapons of Mass Destruction
-
Nulear Threat InitiativeSearchable online resource that allows access to the facts about the threats from nuclear, biological and chemical weapons, missile development programs and policies and terrorist activities.
-
Weapons of Mass Destruction (MERLN)A top resource for finding WMD research. Emphasizes US policy, but also includes resources analyzing the topic from governmental and non-governmental sources, including think tanks and scholarly journals. All documents are available full-text on the internet.
-
National Response Framework Resource Center (FEMA)The National Response Framework presents the guiding principles that enable all response partners to prepare for and provide a unified national response to disasters and emergencies - from the smallest incident to the largest catastrophe. The Framework establishes a comprehensive, national, all-hazards approach to domestic incident response. Includes Response Partner Guides designed to provide a ready reference of key roles and actions for local, tribal, state, federal, and private-sector.
-
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention — Emergency Preparedness and ResponseTop federal website for broad range of bioterrorism-related information, including fact sheets and emergency procedures.